Spekulatius

I know the holidays are fast approaching when Spekulatius and Lebekuchen arrive in our local commissary. These delightful morsels of sugar & butter make my blood sugar rise just looking at the package. Spekulatius are similar to the Windmill Cookies that are made by Archway, I believe. I can find two brands here in the states at our local commissary and some specialty stores. They weren’t my favorite, but will definitely do!

Coppenrath Spekulatius and Bahlsen Spekulatius

Spekulatius, also spelled speculaas or speculoos, are not to be confused with lebekuchen or pfeffernuse. They shouldn’t be confused w/Archway’s Windmill cookies either.
Lebekuchen is typically a softer and more pungent gingerbread cookie. I don’t like lebekuchen much.
Pfeffernusse is a small round cookie with a bit more kick to it. The word literally means pepper nuts and the traditional recipes call for black pepper in addition to the usual spiced cookie spices. I don’t like pfeffernusse either.
On the other hand, spekulatius are crispy, thin, spiced just right, and perfect for dipping in any hot beverage. They are flat and stamped with a design, like the windmill cookies or often with holiday designs. Traditionally, these cookies were made with cookie molds.

cookiemold.jpg Here is a picture of one of my cookie molds hanging in my dining room. This particular one looks like the old-fashioned hornbooks of colonial America.

Spekulatius are originally from the Netherlands area, so that would be the speculaas spelling. The word, speculaas, looks a lot like the Latin word speculum….and I’m really sorry I read that, but I’m determined to make this an educational post and throwing in a bit of Latin always makes it educational – right?

I also look forward to clementines this time of year. In fact, my whole family looks forward to clementines. We’re all hooked on this delicious little fruit. Only a loving and all-knowing God would provide this little package of sunshine and nutrition in the drearest of months. He knew we’d need that little extra dose of vitamin C, too!

You know, if I can have a mug of my husband’s cappuccino (aka the BEST cappuccinos in the universe), a couple spekulatius and a clementine or two for breakfast….it just doesn’t get any better!

This entry was posted in Food, Holidays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spekulatius

  1. Chrystal says:

    Clementines=Yummy
    They don’t last long around me.
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE these perfect little fruits!

  2. Elaine says:

    Ok, now you’ve got me wanting to head to the store looking for those special confections that only appear at this special time of the year.

    I just found another fruit that comes out this time of year, a Palamero (I think that’s how it’s spelled). It is grown in California and is a large citrus fruit. It’s size is similar to a grapefruit. The flesh is colored similar to grapefruit. The meat isn’t as tart/bitter as grapefruit it is more sweet like a navel orange. The rind is very think and by the time you get to the good stuff it is the size of a good navel orange. The down side of this fruit are two-fold it’s only available for 5-6 weeks and the price is high, one runs about $4 at Fred Meyer.

    Funny thing – I was introduced to Clementines will living in Alaska! ~S

  3. Chrystal says:

    I will have to keep my eye out for those fruits you are talking about Miss Elaine. They sound good. I don’t like grapefruits much because they are so bitter but these Palameros sound rather tasty!
    🙂
    The clementines are rather expensive as well. Almost $7 around here. IMHO they are so worth the money.

    Oooo, $7 that is a little high. I’ve been getting the bags for $4-5 and I think they have the same weight as the crates.

  4. Melanie says:

    Mmmmmmm, it’s Christmas time! Gotta go make the pfeffernusse for my dad. I’ll keep the clementines for myself, though. 😛

    I love your cookie mold. It’s very cute!

  5. Chrystal says:

    We found the bags as well, but only had about half the amount in them. They were under $3. The only problem we ate them all in 1 day. 🙂

  6. tressays says:

    I splurge for the Clementines. They are about $7 for a box around here, but we love em. Are you going to make some of those cookies? They sound tasty! 🙂

    MAKE? Oh no, no, no. BUY! I don’t have much patience with cookies. ~S 🙂

  7. appliejuice says:

    I have never had any of those things mentioned above. Shocking, isn’t it?!

    I guess I’ll have to go shopping, so I won’t miss out on Spekulatius, Lebekuchen, and, Pfeffernusse. I really don’t think those are real words. Ya’ll made them up. 😀

  8. appliejuice says:

    I found Pfeffernusse, I think. Well, the word began with P anyway. LOL Lebekuchen looks like something you should get during St. Patricks Day. LOL

    😆 I think Lebekuchen show up at just about any celebration! ~S

  9. Donna says:

    I’ve not tasted any of those goodies. I have heard of lebekuchen. I have a book with instructions for a lebekuchen Hansel and Gretel house. I’ve made the house, but I didn’t use the lebekuchen recipe. If memory serves, and it may not be serving at the moment, the ingredients would have cost too much and it really didn’t sound good. I used a ginger bread recipe.

  10. sumijoti says:

    I love (real) spekulaas! There’s nothing like real german cookies around christmas time. My SIL had some tiny bite-sized round cookies last year that melted in your mouth and had a faint aniseed taste to it. She had bought them in Germany just before Christmas. Yum.

Comments are closed.