Thanksgiving Dinner Rehearsal

It is that time of year!
As much as I love the tried & true traditional Thanksgiving dishes that are such a part of my holiday psyche, I am always looking for something new. One can only eat so much green bean casserole before the love and excitement is gone. Well, maybe….my family begs to differ on The GBC, so it will definitely be on the table of bounty. This year I’ve decided to forgo the mashed potatoes (I know – borderline blasphemy!) and opt for a hearty dish of roasted root vegetables (potatoes, sweet potatoes, parsnips, and brussels sprouts). See what I’m doing there? Mashed potatoes, sweet potato surprise and veggies all in one simple, healthier dish. Thank you, Giada.

The next recipe is for a Broccoli Apple Salad – because
1) more veggies
2) no one really wants to eat a tossed salad on Thanksgiving Day

IMG_4209-0

Toss together in a med mixing bowl:
1 apple – cored and chopped
2 medium stalks broccoli – bite-size
1 large carrot – shredded or finely chopped
1/4 medium onion – finely chopped
1/4 Cup dried cranberries
1/2 C walnuts – chopped

Dressing:
2 T lemon juice, freshly squeezed
1/2 C mayo
1/2 C sour cream or plain yogurt
1 t sugar or 1-2 t honey
1/4 t salt to taste
pinch pepper to taste
Mix well until sugar dissolved and pour over broccoli mixture.

Mix the broccoli apple mix well with the dressing until equally distributed. Chill a couple hours before serving (even better the next day).

This is a good recipe for any time of year and slightly different than my go-to Broccoli-Cauli Salad.

Still mulling over dessert. Part of me says stay traditional with a Pecan Pie (cobbler-style?), but what I really want is Strawberry Cake!

This entry was posted in Food, Holidays, Recipe Box and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.