New foods

Old foods are the new foods,  it seems.

Consider the dandelion. I remember, as a child, hearing about old folks eating dandelion greens, making jelly out of the flowers, and grinding up the roots for a hot beverage. I just don’t remember ever seeing anyone eat these weeds. It turns out that these leaves are some of the most nutrient-dense greens you can eat and other countries actually grow dandelions in their gardens. We can devour a pot of greens around here, so, when I saw these huge dandelion leaves amongst all the other greens at the Kroger, I had a little moment of excitement right there in the produce section.

I fixed them like I do most greens….simply – a little bacon (or sausage), a little onion, and salt and pepper. I can tell you that dandelion greens are as wonderful as any green and they have a bit of a sweet flavor in with the usual bitter.

On this particular trip, I found all kinds of new mushrooms on display. I thought these looked pretty cool, so I bought them.
20130918-202456.jpg
We didn’t really like them.

A food that I certainly remember from childhood is round steak. Not very exciting then nor now, I know, but this is a great recipe for those affordable, tough cuts of beef.

Carne Barata – roughly translated as “cheap meat”
20130918-202518.jpg

2 lbs tenderized round steak
1 onion
can of crushed tomatoes
2 jalapeños pepper – to taste! but this dish needs at least a little
garlic powder
black pepper
paprika – this is really optional – smoked paprika or chiptole powder
allspice – i have whole allspice and just smashed about a dozen and then chopped them to smithereens
cilantro
butter

Thinly slice the meat. Sprinkle with garlic powder and pepper.
Thinly slice the onion.
Prep your jalapeños – or do what I did and grab the jar of sliced jalapeños in the fridge.

Heat a big pan and add 1-2 tablespoons of butter. Add the meat and just barely brown. Remove.
Sautee onions. Add more butter if needed.
Add tomatoes. Stir and add meat.
Add the allspice and paprika.
Simmer awhile until the meat is quite tender.
Sprinkle with cilantro and serve.

I served this over cauliflower mash (with a bit of butter, garlic and nutmeg) and the flavors worked very well together.
A squeeze of fresh lime would really top this off.

My Most Faithful Kitchen Companion!

20130918-202527.jpg

This entry was posted in Food, Low Carb, Recipe Box and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New foods

  1. Kristy says:

    I love your kitchen companion! I buy 1/4 of a cow once a year (I think I just told you that on a recent post) and the Club Steak and Cube Steak are my least favorite pieces of meat. I never quite know what to do with them. I might try this on them. Thanks!

Comments are closed.