Make Your Own Beef Broth

I cannot encourage anyone enough to buy grass-fed, pastured, organic, hormone-free beef! We bought a freezer and our first quarter of beef this year. If you’re over 40 or so, you will recognize the flavor as how meat used to taste.  In our process of eating healthy whole foods, as money permits, we finally got down to the meat. I am now thinking we should have started with meat; beef in particular.  After tasting this wonderful meat, we quickly got on the list for some pastured pork, and again I cannot even begin to describe how much better this is than anything I’ve purchased from a grocery store since I can remember.

Included in the quarter was our share of the bones and I was just thrilled to get them.  Yes, seriously, I was!  The healing properties of bone broth is centuries old knowledge.

This is my first batch of beef broth and I followed Sally Fallon’s (Nourishing Traditions) recipe/method.  The only thing not organic in this was the onion and I never added additional spices or salt.

20130914-141325.jpg

Simmer dem bones for 48 hours.

20130914-141258.jpg

Here is the fruit of my labor in a half gallon jar.  After chilling in the fridge overnight, I scooped off the tallow (fat) and saved it in a separate container.  I further divided the broth into smaller containers and most of them are now in the freezer.  The only hard part about any of this is finding pastured, grass-fed beef….but it’s worth the time and effort to seek a local source.

Bone Appetite!

This entry was posted in Food, Low Carb, Recipe Box and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Make Your Own Beef Broth

  1. Kristy says:

    I have been buying a quarter of a cow every year for the past 4-5 years and I agree…the taste and health benefits are fantastic! And I love having all that beef readily available. I don’t have to worry about not having anything available for dinner.

  2. appliejuice says:

    I should look into this. I just don’t know where to start to find good beef.

    • Sheri says:

      Try looking here for local farms & ranches — Local Harvest. I think this is how I first found my local options. There are several good meat options at our farmer’s market and I have bought from most of them. It is more expensive to buy this way, but it is a good way to find out who’s beef you like best, before you settle on a particular farm.
      There is also U.S.Wellness meat. I haven’t ordered from them yet, but may order some chicken soon.

Comments are closed.