Biscuits, School and a Tetrazzini

Ah, the record-breaking cool weather we’ve been having this mid-August is a tremendous blessing: clear blue skies and cool breezes coming through the window. School has restarted and I have a Senior and a Sophomore. (HOW did this happen so fast?!) My Senior is facing the year with calm and maturity. My Sophomore is already fretting Spanish….its only the 2nd day! Between the cool weather and the beginning of another high school year, I believe a bit of nostalgia overcomes me; with visions of milder, shorter days, the smell of textbooks and pencils, and a taste for homey things….like biscuits…dripping with melted butter…loaded with homemade preserves. M m m m, say no more!

However, we have a biscuit conundrum in this house….regular biscuits vs. buttermilk biscuits. It is a 50/50 split. I prefer the regular biscuits and let’s just say that being the baker has it’s benefits. I often use my Two Ingredient Biscuits recipe, but sometimes I like to play in the dough with my hands and squish the cold little bits of butter into the floury mix. I’ve also learned to cut my biscuits into squares…no more cutting out biscuits, re-rolling the dough and all that nonsense. Ain’t got time for all that, ya know!

…and in other homey things…how about a recipe for Chicken Tetrazzini. Almost time for oven-baked casseroles!

1 pkg cooked and chopped or shredded chicken thighs or whatever parts you prefer
8 oz. pasta, cooked – vermicelli or broken up spaghetti for more traditional dish
1/2 C butter
1/2 C onions, chopped
1/4 C green pepper, chopped
1/2 C flour
3 C milk
1 C chicken stock (from cooking your chicken parts)
2 C Parmesan cheese (save 1 C for topping)
1 C of another cheese – I used gouda
6 oz jar of mushrooms or about 1 C of sliced fresh mushrooms* (opt)
3/4 C of slivered almonds (opt)
1 C frozen peas (opt)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350º.
Cook your pasta.
In a cooking pot, melt butter and sauté onions and green pepper *(if using fresh mushrooms, sauté them here). When onions are nearly translucent, add flour, stir to coat and cook several minutes but don’t let it brown. Slowly whisk in the milk and stock over a medium heat. Whisk nearly constantly for 8 to 10 minutes until mixture is thickened and bubbling. Season with salt and pepper. Add in 1 C Parmesan cheese and 1 C of the other cheese you chose. Remove from heat and add chicken, mushrooms, peas, and cooked pasta.
Spoon into buttered baking dish (13×9) and sprinkle with remaining Parmesan and almonds.
Bake 35 min until bubbly.

You know what I miss about my high school years? My hair….yep, a nice medium brown with no grays…soft, smooth, and long. Yes, I miss that.

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Recipe Box and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Biscuits, School and a Tetrazzini

  1. Kristy says:

    Hi Sheri!!
    Ah yes, school in the south…I am always amazed at how early in the year they start. Better you than me. We don’t start until after Labor Day.

  2. Donna Young says:

    It’s been on the cool side on this end of the state as well. And rainy- it’s rained almost everyday this summer. My vegetable garden is a hideous mess. If weeds were crop, we’d be sitting pretty.

    Biscuits are wonderful things. I’ve been cutting mine into squares since the ’80’s. I’m kind of adventurous like that. lol

    I don’t know why it always surprises me that children get older, but here I sit surprised. I hope they have a wonderful school year!

    • Sheri says:

      You are a trend-setter like that, Donna! ‘Square biscuits’ was an epiphany for me.
      My little container garden was a bust this year. I had the goofiest looking tomato plants that were like 7 ft tall and 3 inches around. So far, I’ve enjoyed all 4 tomatoes produced from my 2 plants.

Comments are closed.