A Gospel Song a Day Keeps the Blues Away – The Prodigal Son

I can’t believe I found a video for this….wasn’t even looking for this song and there it was! So here it is! I grew up in a lukewarm church and can’t really say for sure if I heard a clear presentation of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Even if I did, I wouldn’t have listened because I was too anxious to grow up and live in the world. I relate with the story of the prodigal son, all too well, so I can tell you, that you don’t have ‘too much history’ and it is never too late to open your mind and your heart to Jesus. My father didn’t turn me away and neither did my Heavenly Father…they were both waiting and watching for my return.

The Prodigal Son found in Luke 15:11-32

The Prodigal Son
by Lavon Cantrell

Like the prodigal son I wandered in darkness
And I traded my life for a world of good time
No peace in my heart I ever could find
And I got so tired feeding after the swine

(Chorus)
So I believe I’ll go home and eat with the Father
The table is spread and they’re waiting for me
I can see the Father coming out to greet me
“Lord I’m willing to be just a servant for Thee”

Like the prodigal son I wandered from Jesus
But the Good Shepherd saw through the heat and the cold
The ninety and nine He left in the fold
Just to find this lost sheep that was hungry and cold

This entry was posted in Faith, music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.