A Gospel Song a Day Keeps the Blues Away – Where No One Stands Alone

What kind of Memphian would I be, if I didn’t include a little Elvis?

Where No One Stands Alone
by Mosie Lister

Once I stood in the night
With my head bowed low,
In the darkness as black as could be;
And my heart felt alone and I cried,
“Oh Lord, don’t hide your face from me.”

Like a king, I may live in a palace so tall,
With great riches to call my own;
But I don’t know a thing
In this whole wide world
That’s worse than being alone.

Chorus:
Hold my hand all the way, every hour, every day
From here to the great unknown.
Take my hand, let me stand
Where no one stands alone.

I stretch forth my hands unto thee: my soul thirsteth after thee, as a thirsty land. Selah. Hear me speedily, O Lord: my spirit faileth: hide not thy face from me, lest I be like unto them that go down into the pit. Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee.
Psalm 143: 6-8

Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. Hebrews 13:5

Songs such as this, Psalms, Jesus’ promise to always be with me, and prayer have given me strength and hope through some sad and bleak times. Life is full of trials and temptations, but the Lord never gives us more than we can bare. I need such comfort and reassurance on a daily, and sometimes even hourly, basis. Call me weak, call me needy, it matters not, because I know the One who never fails!

This entry was posted in Faith, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.