A Gospel Song a Day Keeps the Blues Away – At the Cross

At the Cross by Isaac Watts & Ralph Hudson or Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? by Isaac Watts & Hugh Wilson – which is it?
At the Cross is written as a gospel song with a chorus and a little more rhythm and the other is written in the traditional hymn style. The verses are the same.

This song came to me this evening after reading a testimony by a young woman, named Abby Johnson, who worked for Planned Parenthood for years. I urge you to read it.  I am reminded that we are all sinners, unworthy of God’s grace, and unable to repay the debt of love nevertheless, He gave His life’s blood at the cross for each one of us.  It is at the cross where “such a worm as I” met Christ as my Savior. “It was there by faith I received my sight and now I am happy all the day!” If you read Abby Johnson’s testimony, you can see that she has given herself away – Tis all that we can do.

The video I found for this is just perfect.  No instruments, just God’s children singing with contagious joy in their hearts. It sounds like they can barely contain themselves!

Alas, and did my Savior bleed? And did my Sovereign die?
Did He devote His sacred head for such a worm as I?

(Chorus)
At the cross, at the cross, where I first saw the light
And the burden of my heart rolled away
It was there by faith I received my sight
And now I am happy all the day!

Was it for crimes that I have done He groaned upon the tree?
Amazing pity! grace unknown! And love beyond degree!

Well might the sun in darkness hide and shut His glories in,
When Christ, the Mighty Maker died for man the creature’s sin.

But drops of grief can ne’er repay the debt of love I owe
Dear Lord, I give myself away – ‘Tis all that I can do!

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.