A Gospel Song a Day Keeps the Blues Away – The Old Rugged Cross Made the Difference

This is one of my absolute favorite gospel songs.  I love to sing it, I love to play it, I love to hear it.  Written by the Gaithers in 1970, this “video” is also from the early 70s.  Interestingly, The Song Masters were from Milan, TN, which is just up the road a bit.

The Old Rugged Cross Made the Difference  — the name really says it all, but the last line of the 3rd verse, “For life can’t be sealed in a tomb.”…just grabs me!!  If that doesn’t stir your heart, you need a transplant, my dear friend.  The Old Rugged Cross has truly made a difference in my life…..I was that empty shell of a person.

Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new. 2 Cor 5:17

‘Twas a life filled with aimless desperation
Without hope walked the shell of a man;
Then a hand with a nailprint stretched downward,
Just one touch then a new life began.

Chorus:
And the old rugged cross made the difference
In a life bound for heartache and defeat;
I will praise Him forever and ever
For the cross made the difference for me.

Barren walls echoed harshness and anger
Little feet run in terror to hide;
Now those walls ring with love, warmth and laughter,
Since the Giver of Life moved inside.

There’s a room filled with sad, ashen faces
Without hope death has wrapped them in gloom;
But at the side of a saint there’s rejoicing,
For life can’t be sealed in a tomb.

 

I WILL PRAISE HIM FOREVER AND EVER!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith, music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.