A Gospel Song a Day Keeps the Blues Away – This World Is Not My Home

JS Bach said, “Music is an agreeable harmony for the honor of God and the permissible delights of the soul.”  I find it true, that I often look to music to bring a little delight to my soul.  We are living in times when up is down and right is relative….I need a little delight in my soul and I get that from looking up and looking forward to my eternity in heaven and God-centered music helps get me there.

This song has been in my head all day.  Its a familiar song to me, but I realize that I usually make the words up as I go….kind of singing them in accordance with what is bothering me at the moment, I guess.

So, I decided for the month of January, I want to blog a Gospel song, hymn or up-lifting song, a day.  Here goes….

This World Is Not My Home
by Albert E. Brumley

This world is not my home I’m just passing through,
My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue;
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

(Chorus)Oh Lord, you know I have no friend like You,
If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?
The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

They’re all expecting me and that’s one thing I know,
My Savior pardoned me and now I onward go;
I know He’ll take me through tho’ I am weak and poor,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

I have a loving Savior up in glory-land,
I don’t expect to stop until with Him I stand;
He’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Just up in glory-land we’ll live eternally,
The saints on every hand are shouting victory;
Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore,
And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore.

Now sing it loud and sing it lively!

This entry was posted in Faith, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.