Too much time thinking about food…

Planning all these holiday meals has taken considerable time and brain power, this year.   That’s not a whine, it just has.  Between the brainstorming for ideas, looking for new recipes, the combat grocery shopping, and coordinating with all the who-sits….I’m talking hours upon hours.  With all this, I should be putting on a Food Network kind of spread with all the tablescapes and decorations to boot.  Well….I can assure you that ain’t happenin’!  

We’re having Christmas Eve at our home, since The Hub has to work that day and Christmas Day.  I feel inclined to do a snacky, appetizer kind of deal…because in reality, I love me some chips and dip.  Any chip.  Any dip.  So, here’s what I’ve come up with:

  • Meatballs – the ones in the chili sauce and jelly mix.  I’ve never made these and I know the boys will devour them.  I bought premade meatballs at Costco b/c I am not rolling out all that raw meat into a 100 little balls.
  • BBQ Kielbasa – Rendevous style (a famous rib joint in downtown Memphis)
  • Pizza pitas – pita wedges with olive oil, provolone, pepperoni, and salsa, then baked.

I bought some of those little party sandwich breads on a nostalgic whim.  I remember my Mom making little sandwich appetizers and I always thought the little breads were so cute. Bought a little smoked ham and some cheeses.  Maybe some egg salad would be good, too.  I can eat egg salad right from the bowl with a fork.

  • Smoked salmon, cream cheese and little tiny toasts, that are even cuter than the party breads.
  • Deli spirals that I bought at Costco.  I might skip these, since I have the little party breads.  Yep, I’m definitely saving these for later.  

The obligatory olive and pickle plate…bought my favorite garlic stuffed green olives.

Plain ole’ potato chips and Hellluva French Onion dip – its all about the dip, ya know.

My sister-in-law is bringing the spinach artichoke dip (score!) and a veggie tray.  Yum.

Now, we can’t possibly eat all that without some serious sweetness!

Going with the nostalgic thing again, I’m making Cherry Delight – recipe has been around since the 70s, I think. 

  • Pecan pie tartlets – I am so buying these.
  • Dipped pretzel sticks b/c I can eat a ton of these and not get sick.
  • Cappuccino Fudge – a recipe I found on Pinterest.  You’ll find it shocking to know that I am not a fudge person, but hello cappuccino!

and of course…..COOKIES!  Nice BIG cookies.  

 

And yes, we will absolutely be hungry by Christmas Morning!  Keeping it simple with baked oatmeal and homemade applesauce.

We’ll eat Christmas Dinner after hubby gets home.  I am turkey’d and ham’d out from Thanksgiving, so we’re having seafood.  

I found an Ina Garten recipe for Roasted Shrimp – very simple.  

Crab Cakes – not really decided on these yet, but I don’t think the shrimp will be enough for the guys.

Corn cobs and boiled potatoes

Salad – b/c we’re all needing some healthy greens about now.

Pistachio Cake – haven’t had this in years, but it will go well with the seafood.

 

Now, this whole food thing has taken up even more time.  LoL.  May God bless our efforts as we  make a happy and yummy Christmas for our families!

 

Notes for future reference:
The meatballs were so-so. It would be best to have less and make them from scratch. Everyone liked the BBQ Kielbasa. Pizza Pitas are a keeper recipe – make these any time.
I think I’m the only one that really appreciated the smoked salmon (but that is not a surprise).
Glad I skipped the deli spirals.
The Cherry Delight didn’t turn out at all.
Cappuccino Fudge was amazing!!

Nobody wanted a big Christmas Day dinner and I didn’t have the energy for it…so that all worked out. Ready for a shrimp dinner the next night though.

This entry was posted in Family, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too much time thinking about food…

  1. Kristy says:

    That sounds really good. I just realized last night that I didn’t finish planning all my food for the next 3 days and now I’ve got to go to the grocery store 3 days before Christmas on a weekend!!!!! I am kicking myself.

Comments are closed.