Word Up

Walking through the McAlister’s parking lot this afternoon, I was met by ‘automobiles obviously in a hurry’. One of them even sped up across my path. Both cars were driven by men today, but gender is irrelevant. Bad behavior is equal opportunity.

For some reason, the word GENTEEL sprung to mind. I don’t know why, it’s not a word I use. In fact, I can’t say that I’ve seen or heard the word beyond an English Lit class, long, long ago. But, I do remember when rude was rude. Now, it seems rude is just typical.

Genteel means polite, well bred, easy and graceful in manners or behavior, elegant, refined, free from anything low or vulgar and comes to us from the Latin gentilus.

It is no accident that this word came to my mind today. This is one of God’s gentle reminders that, as a Christian, I am called to be a gentlewoman; a woman above the vulgar and roughness. Gentleness is a fruit of the Spirit (Gal 5:22); the trait has already been gifted to me by God. I just need to keep from childish and clownish expressions of attitude and anger and remember who I am…a gentlewoman…a woman “born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth forever” (1Peter 1:23)

This entry was posted in Christian Worldview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.