Chatterings 2

If there is a “1”, there must at least be a “2”.

Our Christmas decorations are still up.  that was a confession & a whine

The boys were glad to see their friends at school this past Monday, but are not so happy about the homework load!  Yowza!  January is a month with big chunks of class time missing for a variety of reasons and causes; thus, the pile-ons, I guess.

So, the New Year routine begins.

Back to the Y – tomorrow or the next day or the…..haha.  Yesterday was thwarted with a phone call for a jump start!  Ironic, since I needed a jump while away and I don’t think I’ve jump started a car in 20 years.  This morning is my big house cleaning time, so shooting for tomorrow!  My friend, Kristy is trying the Couch to 5K program, which I looked at back in November.  I may give this a go, albeit, at a much slower pace and I’d be content with a 2 mile run.  I don’t know though, I feel like a total dork when I run, so running in public is a humbling downright humiliating experience for me!

Back to cooking real food.  I am physically out of whack – not sure if its from frequent dining out, too much processed food, a hangover from December’s double flu whammy or what, but dinners will be clean and simple.   Last night was ground beef simply prepared in the pan with salt & pepper, turnip greens with yummy homemade ham stock,  a pot of brown rice for the boys, and strawberries.

Today will be a small hunk of steak and something green. (i could go for another pot of greens!)  Tomorrow or Friday, I will roast that big ole hen that is defrosting in the fridge.

About those steaks:  I bought a family pack of ribeye at Kroger this morning for a decent price.  While unwrapping them, I discovered they now come with a magnetic anti-theft strip.  Speaks volumes of the fallen world we live in, but also reminds me of a time when I was broke and hungry.

Needing a good sunshiny day soon….looks like I must wait until Friday.

Today’s comfort verse ~

“I called upon the LORD in distress: the LORD answered me, and set me in a large place. The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?” Psalm 118: 5-6

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chatterings 2

  1. Kristy says:

    I have fully abandoned the C25K program for walking at a very brisk pace on the treadmill. My muscles and bones have thanked me repeatedly and I no longer want to curl up and die. Life is better. But if you want to try, go for it!

    That dinner looks….interesting. I don’t think I have ever had turnip greens in my life. And I’m okay with that.

  2. CelticMuse says:

    Stopping by to say Hi!!!

Comments are closed.