Guinea Pig Recipes

Do you try different recipes for your holiday meal or stick to the tried-and-true?  I try to sneak one new recipe or food into these time-intensive dinners.  I mean, why not?  All that work should include a little adventure, yah?  Below is the roasted sweet potato recipe that is a combination of roasted veggie recipes and the classic sweet potato casserole thingy w/marshmallows (which is NOT a family favorite around here, lol).

Did you experiment this Thanksgiving or are you thinking about some new recipes for December?  Do you have a guinea pig recipe to share?

My sister is the Dip Queen and she has a new recipe that I am ever-so-patiently waiting for…….

Roasted Sweet Potatoes

3-4 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into bite sizes

1 T. olive oil, any kind – EVOO for extra flavor

1 T. butter, melted

1 T. honey

cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla sugar, and salt to taste

Mix olive oil, butter, and honey in a medium size mixing bowl.  Dump in the sweet potato chunks and coat evenly.  Sprinkle with your spices, sugar, and salt.

Spread onto a Pam’d baking sheet.

Bake at 350 for 40-60 minutes (until fork tender).  It really depends on the size of the potato chunks.  Stir about halfway through the baking time.

Disclaimer:  No guinea pigs were harmed in these experiments.  Nor is there any guinea pig meat in this recipe.  😀

This entry was posted in Food, Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guinea Pig Recipes

  1. Kristy says:

    I had to read this post twice to find out why it was called “guinea pig recipes.” I’m a little slow today 🙂

    • Sheri says:

      I’ve called them guinea pig recipes for so long, I guess I think everyone should immediately know what I’m talking about. I think I’ll edit my post. 😉

  2. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

Comments are closed.