My Y People

The horrible heat of summer is all but over, vacations over, and kids back in school. Being out of excuses, I am back to my YMCA for my morning workouts, training, me time, or whatever you like to call it.  “Workout” is what my mind thinks….because, its work, and some days I just don’t wanna.

I’m typically one of those people that go, do my thing, and leave.  Its not a hangout place and I’m not there to socialize.  In reality, my little iPod Shuffle is my best Y workout buddy.

Ms Etta is a sweet woman that looks to be in her late 50s.  She is 72!!! We chitchat about the weather, holiday plans, knee pains, good food, and God’s blessings.

The lady who kind of runs the fitness room is a sweetheart and has been an encouragement to me all along the way.  We talk about major house renovations and life’s big events.  Her cheerfulness is contagious.

One thing that I really love is how some of the older gentlemen greet each other.  Now, its not with the casual “dude” or the uber cool up-nod kind of greeting.  It’s “Semper Fi” for these gentlemen.  I ♥ them.

There is a group of firemen that come wearing their matching blue sweats.  I don’t think they’ll be auditioning for the 2012 calendar, but I’m glad they’re there.

Then there is the hard-core aerobics people that can go 60 minutes on an elliptical while talking on their cell phone the entire time.  Go Girls!  But I must say, that I’m glad I’ve got tunes in my ears, ya know.

Oh and to the woman that just had her 2nd baby and still has her 21 year old body…..I’m trying very hard not to hate you.

I like my group of morning Y regulars.  We share a common goal, a common place and time, and we get comfortable with each other’s presence.  Its not always easy to be comfortable around people when you’re a sweaty mess.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Y People

  1. Kristy says:

    I hate exercise and sweat with a passion. That is all.

  2. Donna says:

    I’m so glad that you have your morning routine. I need to get back to my Y routine.

Comments are closed.