More About Reading Detective

After struggling with The Lord of The Flies, my son was frustrated and discouraged.  (yuck, still don’t like that book.)  As a dyslexic, he has his share of reading challenges, but throw in some odd and archaic wordage in a bizarre fictional story, and he is overwhelmed.  If I ever wanted to send him into a full-blown panic attack, I could just dangle LOTR in his face and say, “Read this and we’ll discuss it next week.”  While imagining the deer-in-the-headlight look on his face is kinda funny, I can never imagine actually doing this to him.  Reading is one of those emotional and personal things that should never be mocked.  (ask my former 6th grade youth groupers, how I feel about that!)

One of our later reading sessions of LOTF was riddled with strife and this statement:  “Mom, I can read it, I just can’t understand it!”  We read the rest of it aloud and he understood it (as well as this book can be understood, anyway).

My next task was to do something about it.  I think I was thumbing through The Critical Thinking Co.’s catalog looking for a logic book, when there it was, Reading Detective Rx.

Sounds good, yah?  So I ordered it.

SS2 has taken the pretest fiction and pretest nonfiction, so far.  The pretests are not considered diagnostic.  The answer key is very helpful and is included at the back of the book.

SS2 reads the story and then answers a series of multiple-choice and short answer questions.  This isn’t a workbook for a child to complete on their own without parental/older sibling discussion.  That is where the learning comes in…so we discuss.

Our first unit of 4 stories will cover identifying the main idea and the supporting details.  Sounds like a wonderful place to start, lol.

There are 11 units with 44 stories total, 2 pretests, and 2 posttests.  Each unit teaches a specific story element or literary device and begins with a couple of introductory pages.  Each story is one page or less with 4-7 multiple choice/short answer questions.

I must share Question #8 of the fiction pretest.  Let me preface this by saying, each paragraph is labeled with a letter and each sentence is numbered.

Q:  Which sentence in paragraph E contains a simile?   A:  Sentence 28

Q:  Write the simile.  A:  🙂

So, what was sentence 28?  “Their faces sparkled with big smiles.”

The simile was “as rich and brown as chocolate” in sentence 31.

No, this was not a smart-alek answer.  So, we grabbed ye olde grammar book and looked up simile…..with a smile.

So, there is a little bit about Reading Detective Rx.  I hope I can update this towards the end of the summer…..with a good report!

This entry was posted in Education, SumSchooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More About Reading Detective

  1. celticmuse says:

    we have Reading Detective Beginning and even though it is way too young for the Ark, I have him doing it since he really needs to learn how to read for information….he will move on to RDA1 once he finishes this one.

Comments are closed.