1/14/11 ~ Friday

Day 4 started with an early morning chat with the plumber.  We may have sold the big commercial-grade utility sink.  He is building a big BBQ and is interested.  Excellent! We can apply that to the granite fund.

The electrician spent a couple of hours here to tie up loose ends.  They will be back when the sheetrockers have finished their patchwork and the ceiling knock-down is done.

The Hub and I spent the rest of the day looking at a bazillion floor tiles and backsplash tiles.  The tile shop was fun.  Tile samples were everywhere with lots of tiled walls and tiled floors to complicate my decision making process.  So many pretty tiles, only so much house.  They used tiles as crown moulding and around door frames.  Their bathrooms were cool…almost like a cave, but way cool.  The Hub joked that those tiles would look good in his man-cave.  At least I think he was joking!

We also stopped at the granite place and pretty much picked a slab….that’s not set in stone though….lol, get it?  We found something that we liked, that does not need to be special ordered.  yeah, us! I really feel good about these two places that we visited today.

I have learned that contractors like to be paid on Fridays, but its not called anything like “payment”, “installment”, or “lay some moolah on me baby”.  It is called a “draw”.  Draw?  OK, but “draw” makes me think of Budweiser or a Smith & Wesson.

In other real life, we picked up the boys from their retreat and stuffed ourselves at our fav local Mexican restaurant (Hub and I forgot to eat and were starving).

The Y is calling to me and I haven’t been there at all this week.  Tomorrow, I will have to resist the urge to go overboard and then hobble around with sore muscles for the next 2 days.

Pro Stone Our granite place. Real nice people and knowledgable about more than just granite.
Venice Tile Literally tons of tiles to see. Very helpful and knowledgable about their product.

This entry was posted in Homekeeping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1/14/11 ~ Friday

  1. Donna says:

    LOL, the tile question that I just ask on yesterday’s post was for this entry.

    So, did you two narrow down the tile possibles at the tile store?

    • Sheri says:

      Yes we did. We found two different tiles for the floor. One is a porcelain tile that looks like slate and the other is a porcelain tile that looks like limestone. The limestone is much simpler and half the cost. We have lots of ideas for the backsplash, too. The only thing I worry about is bringing in too many different textures and colorings between the floor, backsplash, and countertop. I wish I had your artistic eye for these things!

  2. Kristy says:

    Sounds like you are making good progress. I can’t wait to see the finished project.

Comments are closed.