1/4/11 ~Y

I love my mornings at the YMCA.  My schedule is not set in stone and I’m certainly not obsessive about it, except when it comes to form.  Form counts for a lot.  Have you ever noticed that men are the biggest ‘form-offenders’?  I mean seriously, when doing a bicep curl, one should not look like they are riding a rocking horse.  I really shouldn’t laugh much, because I’m sure that seeing me run on a treadmill is comedy in motion.

My current, basic routine, fwiw.
First comes cardio.
• ARC trainer 20-30 minutes – sometimes HIIT, sometimes I just cruise. OR
• any other cardio machine, but I really do not like ellipticals

• Strength-Training 30 minutes – 2 sets of 12, except abs
Preferably in this order, provided the machine is available:
Leg Press @ 25 lbs – looks puny in writing
Leg Curl @ 45 lbs – gravity is my friend, here
Leg Extension @ 25 lbs – watch those knees
Lat Pull Down @ 45 lbs – one of my fav
Tricep Push Down @ 20 lbs – I know, they are little
Pec Fly @ 15 lbs – just started these
something for my upper back machine @ 15 lbs
Shoulder Press @ 20 lbs – just moved up today
Bicep Curl @ 15 lbs
Ab Cruncher thing @ 50 lbs, including obliques, 2 or 3 sets of 12-15
Lower Back @ 45 lbs – 2 or 3 sets of 12-15

I hope I didn’t forget anybody! Most of these are beginner exercises that involve a relatively large group of muscles for each machine. I am going to move up to 3 sets of each, probably next week, after I check with my favorite trainer.

This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1/4/11 ~Y

  1. appliejuice says:

    Wow. You’re doing great! I lift 14.5oz can of tomatoes today.

  2. Donna says:

    I’m so glad you love going to the Y!! That is half the motivation in getting there. I like the lat pulldown too; it makes a nice looking back. I like the leg press; I use it to work the gluts.

Comments are closed.