Here I Go Again

Yes, a new diet plan, another life style change, jump-starting the old exercise routine.  Yeah, Yeah, Yeah, Been there….Done that! Have a closetful that spans 5 sizes to prove it.

Pardon my cynicism.  I am especially cynical when it comes to ME and DIET.  I’ve tried most of the good ones and I’ve tried all the little mind games.  Its a life change, not a diet. OK, whatever,  I’d rather eat donuts, white rice with lots of salt & butter, ice cream, and potato chips followed by a big Diet Coke.  So what am I going to do about it?  Well, for now….I am not eating those things.  I think that can be officially classified as dieting.  Doing without. Fortunately, finding other foods to eat isn’t really a problem, lol.

A little personal background:

  • pert-near 50 year old white female
  • short with variable degrees of roundishness most my life
  • nonathletic/bonafide clutz
  • mild hypertension since last pregnancy
  • undiagnosed insulin-resistant – labs are still OK, but its there
  • recent gallbladder removal
  • generalized puffiness, also of variable degrees
  • general “don’t feel well” feeling for several years now
  • waaay too much circulating estrogen

TMI? Sorry.

I’m basically confused by the nutrition industry and don’t think many of them know what they’re talking about.
Eat carbs by the bucketful! Don’t eat carbs!
Avoid fat at all costs! Fats don’t make you fat!
Too much fiber is bad! Eat your daily oatmeal!
Sugar Busters! Trans-Fats Kill!
Supplements are vital! Supplements are toxic!

The fitness industry leaves me almost as confused.

AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!

Here’s what I think — no footnotes or sources, just what I’ve assimilated over the years.

  • I believe the science behind low-carb eating, but I need a sustainable way of eating and more balance.
  • Fruits are wonderful and vital and should be a daily treat.
  • God gave us meat to eat, but I don’t need steak every night.
  • He also gave us whole grains, but they shouldn’t be processed much.
  • Eggs are a perfect protein and should be eaten regularly.
  • Fats should be as natural as you can get them. What exactly is a canola?
  • Government has no business in the ag-industry and the FDA should be canned.

So, here I am. With the boys in school, I have available time for the first time since about 1994. I promptly signed up for membership at our local YMCA and I’m down 12 pounds in 6 weeks. That is a BIG HOORAY! I started really watching my food intake (aka DIET) about 3 weeks ago. I’ll write more, off and on, about what I’m doing and how I’m doing it.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here I Go Again

  1. Donna says:

    Sheri, congrats on losing 6 pounds! =D

    My food philosophy is that, as much as possible, food should be in the condition that it is as if the food is from God’s hand to my hand. There are too many people, machines, and chemistry between the Creator and my food in the grocery store isles. Even so– for obvious reasons [I don’t have a farm], I have to rely on those people in the middle. So at the store, I have to hope that the apple I see at the store is still good for me. In a nutshell, when I am dieting based on my belief, then I avoid processed food, but I can’t avoid it entirely.

    And the thing about carbs is that they are usually processed foods. When I am going through a phase when I am feeling convicted [and that is not all the time], I can easily avoid processed carbs because they do not fall into my religious viewpoint of what food is.

  2. seeker86 says:

    Good for you. I say it’s try and try again that has to be worth something. I try to eat healthy but I eat a lot of carbs. I try and make most of them whole wheat or grain but I really should try a little harder 😉

  3. Tresses says:

    Congrats on your weight loss! 😀 We are pretty much on the same page with fitness and nutrition. Did you ever finish Taubes? I started it again early this year…then put it down. I need to reread it. He was supposed to come out with a more layperson-friendly edition, but I never checked on it.

    • Sheri says:

      THX!

      Beth, I can’t get thru that book per se, but I’ve picked my way thru it several times over. It doesn’t exactly hold my interest for days on end! I have his new book preordered from Amazon….some day it will show up in my mailbox and be a nice little surprise. 😉

      • Tresses says:

        (A week later, I finally remember to come back and check for a reply. 😳 )

        Pre-order? So, it’s due soon! I think I’ll get the new book, too. That should do as a good refresher without re-reading the first book. 😀

  4. appliejuice says:

    Wow, congratulations. I am very proud of you!

Comments are closed.