Be Thou My Vision

This lovely Irish hymn from around the 8th century is playing on my iTunes. Lovely and timeless.

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart-
Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word-
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord

Where there is no vision, the people perish. Proverbs 29:18

This song is about aspiration. The act of aspiring is one of the unique human traits given us by the Lord. When we keep our eyes on Jesus and strive towards our high calling, then we rightly aspire. I don’t think it matters so much what we are doing, but why we are doing. Many of our worldly pursuits are honorable, serve a purpose, and what we gain from those pursuits can be used to further Christ. To aspire just for the sake of saying “ah, look what I accomplished” is shallow and unsatisfying. To aspire, to better oneself, for Christ….well, there is no comparison. I want to look back and say, God was with me and look what we did. I want to look forward and say My Jesus, My Saviour, these crowns are Yours.

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Be Thou My Vision

  1. seeker86 says:

    One of my favorites<3

  2. seeker86 says:

    They do a lovely version of that song =) I’m glad you like them too.

  3. rcottrill says:

    Your reference to the hymn “Be Thou My Vision” caught my eye this morning. Today is the birthday of Donald Hustad, who arranged an old Irish folk melody to create the hymn tune (Slane) used with the hymn.

    If you enjoy reading about our hymns and their authors, I invite you to check out my daily blog on the subject, Wordwise Hymns.

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” With the arrival of fall, we begin to think of the Christmas season up ahead. If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at mine, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

Comments are closed.