Coffee Brownie Trifle

This lovely dessert came with a price….the use of my trigger finger, for about 2 weeks. :/ Never cut your perfectly crunchy brownie edges with the blade up and if you forget this little pearl of wisdom — save the brownies!  Anyway, I’m sorry I don’t have a picture for you….anything in a trifle bowl always looks yummy.  I could share a picture of my homemade bandage job on my finger, but I don’t want to spoil this page.

1 9×13 pan of baked brownies – a little overdone is ok

1 C strongly brewed coffee, divided

1 – 8oz pkg cream cheese, softened

1 C cold milk

1 – 3.9oz box instant chocolate pudding

2 C Cool Whip, thawed (more if you want a topping)

1 C fresh raspberries (totally optional) – just about any fruit would work

Decide on a garnish – shaved chocolate, a bit of fresh fruit, sprigs of mint, flowers….

Assemble:

1.  Cut your brownies into 1/2″ to 1″ squares.

2.  Toss brownie squares with 1/4 C coffee.

3.  Beat cream cheese and remaining coffee until smooth.  Gradually mix in milk.  Add dry pudding and beat 2 min.  Stir in Cool Whip.

4.  Layer:  1/2 the brownies, 1/2 the pudding mixture, fresh fruit if you’re using, remaining brownies, remaining pudding mixture.

5.  Cover w/more Cool Whip if desired.

6.  Garnish and Refrigerate 1 hour.

This recipe didn’t fill up my trifle bowl quite enough, (maybe I nibbled too many brownies……nah) so I added a thick layer of Cool Whip on top.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Coffee Brownie Trifle

  1. Tes says:

    What an indulging recipe! I really love this!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. Donna says:

    This sound sooooooo good! I wish I had the ingredients, I’d make it right now.

    • Sheri says:

      I rarely have these ingredients on hand, either. Cool Whip and cream cheese are usually bought for a purpose such as this though! lol

  3. appliejuice says:

    Oooo, that sounds dee-lish! Sir Husband has got me hooked on coffee. Coffee, half ‘n half, brown sugar, spritz of vanilla. So…at the age of 29 (again), I now know how to make coffee in a 2 cup coffee machine. LOL

    I think I can make this dessert. 😀

    I want to see a picture of the finger. I showed you a picture of your new pet, so you can show me a picture of the finger. RTOFL You would, wouldn’t you. 😀

  4. seeker86 says:

    LOL
    Yummy! Glad to hear your finger is healing =)

  5. Chrystal says:

    You are making this for me when we come down to visit right?
    Pleeeeease! 🙂

Comments are closed.