Cool and refreshing treats

My SuperMom friend, Michelle, tells me about her new frozen treat molds. And she made an Orange Dreamsicle Bomb Pop — the only popsicle I think I actually like. She also provides the link to Amazon…helllo, Amazon! I’m so there. And here is your link to the Tovolo shooting stars molds at Amazon. You’re welcome.

I have this gigantuous cantaloupe taking up too much refrigerator space (but cantaloupe popsicle doesn’t excite me), a thousand or so blueberries (The Hub has dibs on these), some lemons, some limes, an apple or two. Hmmm….let’s go check the freezer.  Alrighty, a bag of frozen strawberries to save the day.

Into the blender:
half a bag of frozen strawberries
2 slices of cantaloupe (a really fantastic ‘loupe, btw)
juice of one lime
some water to make it slurry-up

Make yo’self a little extra. I added a smidge of heavy cream to mine.  ssshhh, it was actually better with the cream

Into the molds.
5 hours later….schlurrrrp, schlurrrrp, schlurrrrp is all I hear.

Strawberry melon pops are a hit.  Yay!  Thanks, Applie.

Lessons learned:  Don’t be in too big a rush (hahhaa, I have boys ya know) to get your pop out.  Let it sit a room temp for a few minutes or run it under some warm water.

Otherwise all you get is a stick

Which actually works out OK.  The boys get to try their popsicle extraction technique again, and you get stickless pops.  So, take your stickless pop, mash it up in a pretty bowl

and you now have a first-class granita.  Fresh mint on top of this would have been perfect. I know just where to get some very fine mint, but I fear my granita would melt before I got back.

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cool and refreshing treats

  1. seeker86 says:

    Looks very yummy!

  2. Donna says:

    They look great. Those pop mold sure are cute! =)

    Donna

  3. appliejuice says:

    Oooh, love the star shaped ones. I sent the husband a wish list from amazon the other day and the star shaped pops were on the list. LOL My P31 friend read my post and ran over to Bed Bath and Beyond. She found the same molds there and used her coupon.

    My daughter got a stickless pop too. I just hold them in my hand a minute, then slowly pry off the top.

    Fresh mint sound delish. I’ll have to try it.

  4. Elaine says:

    Now you’ve got me wanting to try this but my biggest problem is freezer space!!

Comments are closed.