Christmas Menus

I love planning holiday menus, taking into consideration our family traditions and our personal favorites. Some recipes are carried over from my childhood days and others are accumulated here and there; accompanied by thoughts, memories, and feelings. They are also a lot of work and require some planning ahead.

Some years also prove to be more challenging than others. With this year’s passing of my beloved MIL, Carolyn, and DH’s work schedule…well, there are just some things to work around. DS1 also put a turkey dinner on his Christmas wish list.

~Christmas Eve~
Sometimes this is an all evening buffet of appetizers. Sometimes this is when I do a prime rib roast and fancy things up a bit. Sometimes it is a shrimp boil served on newspaper. This year it will be my son’s turkey dinner.

Baked turkey stuffed w/oranges, rosemary, onions
Mashed potatoes and turkey gravy
Steamed corn
Crudite
Blackberry cobbler

~Christmas Morning~
German Apple Pancake
Sausage links
Coffee and lots of it

A little later that day:
Three-Cheese Artichoke Dip
Salami and Cheese plate
Crackers, Dippers, and Tortilla chips

And then after that:
Turkey leftovers

~Christmas Day~
We’ll actually have this the 26th – part of those work schedule conflicts I mentioned.

Baked Whole Ham – covered in brown sugar and crushed pineapple
Scalloped Potatoes
Buttered Brussel Sprouts
Green Beans w/onions and bacon
Pineapple Casserole
Gingerbread Cheesecake

If you’ve never cooked a whole ham, you must! You will never go back to eating those tasteless, boneless hams or paying ridiculous amounts of money for HoneyBaked hams.

This entry was posted in Food, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Menus

  1. celticmuse says:

    Your menu’s sound very good. I have made my own honey baked ham once and it was good and so easy really.

  2. appliejuice says:

    Yum. I’ll be right over. 😀 I haven’t cooked a whole ham in a long time. Mattew is allergic to them.

    German Pancakes are so yummy. Sir Husband and I are the only ones who will eat it.

  3. Melanie says:

    Okay, I want to have Christmas at your house!

  4. Elaine says:

    If you add the prime rib roast we’ll be down next year!!

Comments are closed.