Homey Soup

This is definitely soup weather…

…And I am unanimous in that!

I love soup, my family not so much. Every once in awhile we find something that everybody eats with enthusiasm: taco soup, Houston’s potato soup, chili, chili, and more chili. The Wolfe Den is currently in love with Cheeseburger Soup; an “old” recipe from Taste of Home c.1996. (ooo, lights are flickerin’ a wee bit :/ ) There are so many ways to vary this recipe by adding different spices, changing up the cheese, adding different veggies. I could go for a Greek twist on this or how about mushroom-swiss style?

I’ve linked the recipe above. Below is how I tweaked it for us.

3 lbs ground beef
1/2 of a large chopped onion
3 stalks of diced celery
4 tablespoons butter or fat of your choice, divided
3 cups chicken broth…probably more
4 large diced semi-peeled potatoes (1-3/4 pounds)
2/3 block of Velveeta cheese, cubed
1 C. milk
1/4 -1/2 C. sour cream
salt & pepper to taste
bit of shredded cheddar

Directions
In a big pot, brown beef; drain and set aside. While that is cooking, peel and dice your potatoes and chop your other veggies. Start the potatoes cooking in another pot (do not overcook!). When the beef is done, saute onion & celery in same pot, until just translucent.
Return all cooked ingredients, and add broth to your largest pot. Add cheese, milk, salt and pepper; cook and stir until cheese melts. Remove from the heat; blend in sour cream. Sprinkle with shredded cheddar.

Wouldn’t this be wonderful with a mess o’ fried dill pickle slices? Yum!

What’s tickling the tummies at your house?

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homey Soup

  1. Melanie says:

    We love soup! We are eating lentil soup this week.
    http://foursquares.squarespace.com/home/2008/6/4/lentil-soup.html

    The kids topped theirs with a pat of butter; I sprinkled mine with cilantro.

    Your recipe looks great! My parents brought me several pounds of ground free range, grass fed, darn near organic beef named Alfalfa, and I’ve been looking for something special to do with it. 😀

    • Sheri says:

      It’s quite yummy and satisfying, but seems almost a shame to take that wholesome beef and drown it in Velveeta. lol
      Love lentil soup….have to dig out my recipe.

  2. Donna says:

    I went to the link. MMMM that looks good!!!

  3. appliejuice says:

    Now that looks good, except we don’t eat Velveeta cheese. Wonder if I could use something else.

    Sir Husband and I are the only ones who like soup. Sir Son only likes chicken noodle soup.

    Going now to look at the lentil soup from Melanie.

    • Sheri says:

      I’m sure other cheeses would work….like a queso dip only thinner. Hmmmm…..maybe that’s why I like this soup so much, it’s dippy.

  4. Chrystal says:

    Love the weather pic there. I went to my German final yesterday and it was -4! A fine day for a final I thought. Should have had some soup to unthaw myself when I got home. I’m going to try this, it sounds amazing.

  5. Elaine says:

    I’m not a big soup fan myself but I’m getting better about it than I used to be. The girl will not touch soup at all. Hubby loves soup and will try any at all but homemade is always preferred – pour man didn’t marry a woman who likes making soup though. The boy is becoming more adventuresome and would probably try something with cheeseburger in the title!!

  6. tressays says:

    That sounds yummy. I love soup. My family likes it, but my husband always feels like he didn’t get enough to eat even if I make bread to go along with it. Stay warm over there. Are you going to get some snow?

Comments are closed.