Homeschool Agenda 2009-2010

2010, 2010, 2010…I just like typing that.

DS1 – 13 yo

Math has always been a struggle for him until we finally found Math-U-See.  We struggled, stammered, and stalled, our way through Miquon, Singapore, R&S, and Saxon….leaving us quite behind.  Even though MUS is a perfect fit for him, progress has still been slow.  It will take consistent effort and prayer on his part (and mine) to have him ready for Algebra as a 9th grader.  In TN, it is required to have 4 years of math and nothing below Algebra I counts toward a high school diploma.  How they expect to accomplish this in public school is beyond me and quite frankly – not my concern.  Anyway, pray we don’t have any major setbacks.

We will restart our Latin lessons – again.  DS has worked through Prima Latina and LC1 and we’re just not thrilled about doing any more of their DVDs.  Willing to try their new Latin curric – First Form Latin.

I’m very excited about studying Biblical Jewish holidays/feasts.  I think Christians miss some of the fullness of the Gospel without the knowledge of Hebrew customs and a better understanding of the OT.  I’ve been wanting to study this book for years.

DS has expressed a keen interest in politics and our government, so I’ve been looking for resources appropriate for 8/9th grade level.   Him and I will be doing this together (surprise! haha) and this will be his history credit this year.

BibleA Family Guide to the Biblical Holidays by Robin Sampson  & Linda Pierce – this is a family project

MathMath-U-See Epsilon & Zeta

Life of Fred – Fractions (hopefully we can supplement with this)

EnglishClassical Writing For Older Beginners -Aesop & Homer (links to their forum, which is where you’ll find the info)

Harvey’s Grammar – integrated into CW

Daily Apples Spelling – basically a review/reinforcement of easily forgotten spelling rules

LatinFirst Form Latin by Cheryl Lowe from Memoria Press

LogicThe Thinking Toolbox by the Bluedorn brothers

Traditional Logic I by Martin Cothran from Memoria Press – if we don’t get to it this year, that’s ok

ScienceApologia Exploring Creation with Physical Science We love Apologia!

HistoryUncle Eric books and corresponding BlueStocking Guides

Personal, Career, and Financial Security

Whatever Happened to Penny Candy?

Whatever Happened to Justice?

Are You Liberal? Conservative? or Confused?

Ancient Rome- How it Affects You Today

ArtComplete-A-Sketch

Music – piano lessons + hopefully, he will be joining the Levite Homeschool Choir

PE – continue working towards Black Belt in TKD

OK, one child down.

DS2 – 11 yo

His struggle is quite different and this past year has been a year of change for him. After testing for dyslexia and other “dys’s” we attended “Saturday School” through the Memphis Dyslexia Foundation for the remainder of the traditional school year. The MDF is a wonderful organization – they truly are there for the children & their parents! How public schools deal with dyslexics is tragic. I believe I have gleaned all I can from them and we’ve struck out on our own, incorporating many of their methods and fine-tuning them specifically for DS. So far, this is going very well.

Bible – same as above

Math-U-See – Beta & Gamma

EnglishFirst Language Lessons 4 – he’ll be done with this by Christmas and I’m not sure what we’ll do next

Writing with Ease 2 & 3 – he is really working through these fast.

All About Spelling – an awesome program! We still hit snags, but at least spelling doesn’t completely ruin the day!

Italic Handwriting D – he still dreads any type of handwriting, but we just gotta do it anyway and this works as well as anything else.

ScienceExploring Creation with Zoology 2: Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day – did I mention we love Apologia?! I bought him Zoology 1 as well b/c I know he’ll read it, just for fun.

HistoryMystery of History II

ArtComplete-A-Sketch

Music – piano lessons

PE – continue working towards Black Belt in TKD  + basketball during winter

****************Other Thoughts*******************

I entertained various ideas about history. Until this past year, when we tried going to a homeschool ‘academy’, we always did history together. We’re off track now and I wasn’t sure what to do. When DS expressed his interest in government, I went with that and decided to keep my younger son on track with MOH.

I am trying Classical Writing for the 2nd time. I bought it after it was first published, several years ago, and really couldn’t quite figure out what to do with it. My oldest probably wasn’t ready for it anyway. Their program is much easier to implement with additional parental guidance and student workbooks, so we’re giving it another go. I wasn’t sure about Harvey’s Grammar, but it is incorporated into the CW assignments – making my job easier and I’m all for that.

DS 2’s Language Arts program is parent-intensive, however it is exactly what is needed at this time. Even though he tested “negative” for dyslexia, his counselor was not convinced of the accuracy of that “diagnosis” and neither am I. He is obviously dysgraphic and possibly has a degree of dyscalculia. I seriously doubt he has dyscalculia and fault myself for not being more rigid in his arithmetic.

Bible is the only thing we will be doing as a family and if there’s one thing that should be family-oriented, it is a bible study! Over the summer, they will be reading Psalms, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes and we’ll start the Biblical Holidays in the fall.

DS1 did The Fallacy Detective by the Bluedorns and it was his favorite subject, by far. I hope The Thinking Toolbox lives up to his expectations.

This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homeschool Agenda 2009-2010

  1. Chrystal says:

    Zoology huh?
    I’d say a trip to the Omaha Zoo is in order to kick off their school year right. We can handle the hot August heat while walking 13+ miles around the zoo right?
    🙂
    This year looks fun! And it’s no big surprise to see Bull taking a liking to politics and government. I really hope he enjoys it.
    And i’m also glad to see the Mystery of History is making an appearance again this year. Even I liked those books.
    Cant wait to check out all your new HS goodies. You are lugging all their stuff up here on vacation right???
    LOL

  2. appliejuice says:

    That’s a good list. I am going to look into First Form Latin; I haven’t seen it before. I wonder when it will be ready. Says the first shipment will be summer 2009.

    We have the holiday book and have done very little from it.

    I should get some of the Uncle Eric books for Sir Son, but we haven’t gotten into the government studies. I’ll need to talk to Sir Husband and decide what to do, because I am not teaching Government. Nope, no way.

    The Logic one looks really good. I wonder if it would work for me. lol

    Have you used Complete A Sketch before?

    • Sheri says:

      Logic does not work on normal people, so you are hopeless. 😉 Actually, The Fallacy Detective was fun.

      I like what I’ve read from the holiday book, thus far. I know for sure that we will not be doing all the activity stuff. Some of it is too childish, so we’ll take the ‘meat’ and leave the rest.

      This will be the first time for Complete A Sketch. Not sure what I think of it, but the boys think it looks cool.

  3. tressays says:

    I can’t believe next year is 2010. Crazy. I am planning for next year too. Your year looks great.

Comments are closed.