The Weekly LOLs #15

“Big government is where nations go to die … sooner than you think.” –columnist Mark Steyn

At the State Media Party formerly knows as the White House Correspondents’ Association dinner, he (POTUS) said, “During the second 100 days, we will design, build and open a library dedicated to my first 100 days.” And joked, “My next 100 days will be so successful, I will complete them in 72 days. And on the 73rd day, I will rest.”

UGH!  There he goes again – confusing government with God.

 

*****

 

In God We Trust

My Dad sent an email about our national motto, “In God We Trust”, and the grief this phrase seems to cause.  According to some surveys, 86% of Americans believe in God – although I can say with 100% confidence that not nearly that many truly trust God. Knowing who HE is and knowing HIM are two entirely different relationships with the Heavenly Father.  That leaves 14% who have no belief or no answer.   Going out on a limb here, I’m guessing that In God We Trust only bothers this 14% or so.  

What does one of atheistic persuasion suggest that we put there?  In Government We Trust…..I could say, “are you really that stupid?”, but that seems to offend some folk when I say that. 

How about in In Myself I Trust?  Trust for what?  Trust yourself to get out of bed and go to work every day?  Trust yourself to make yourself happy?   Trust yourself to keep your freedoms intact?   Trust yourself to get you to heaven or whatever your vision of eternity may be?  Really, I’d like to know…..how far does trust in thyself go?  

How about “In My Religion I Trust“?  Maybe that’s not quite as offensive.

Nay, the motto is fine just the way it is.  I’d rather have God than government, God rather than my own abilities, and most certainly God rather than religion.  

*****

Sometimes Tennessee Rocks!

Putting down its sovereign foot, Tennessee is crafting some legislation that will make the federal Cap and Trade (insert other adjectives here) null and void in our state!  YES!  YES!  YES!  

Montana Rocks, Too. Montana recently passed legislation about arms regulations giving their residents the freedom to buy/sell, make and own Montana made weapons — as duly guaranteed by the Second Amendment.  I am thrilled, THRILLED to see some of our states exercise their seemly forgotten rights!  Dust off those biceps and take back what is rightfully yours!

 
*****

$8000 incentive for first time home-buyers

I am not knocking this program per se, but caveat emptor…..make sure your interest rate doesn’t go up if you take this option.  Not sure if it is part of the $8000 strings or coming from the lending company.  

 
*****
Home: No Place for Bible Studyunless you pay up, of course. This is a must-read for any Christian and any lover of our First Amendment. I bet “How Great Thou Art” will sound awesome in the catacombs!

O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
Consider all the worlds Thy Hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
How great Thou art, How great Thou art.

 
*****
“Well, we are out of money now.” ! —-Guess who said this?! Guess—- ! LOL! Jumping Up Out of My Chair! LOL!

He also said this: “You know, I am not sure that I could get through Senate confirmation.” REALLY?! YA think!?

And this: “…the criteria that I described, a strong intellectual grasp of the law, an appreciation for the timeless principles of the constitution, and a sense of common sense and compassion and empathy for ordinary Americans, so that everybody is heard. Those are all qualities that I think make for a great Supreme Court justice. Did you catch the part about timeless principles? LOL! Oh stop….LOL…..my stomach…LOL…my stomach.!

1337 Days

This entry was posted in Weekly LOLs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Weekly LOLs #15

  1. Chrystal says:

    To help clear up the $8000 tax credit. We got approved @ 5.25% interest. If we so choose to use the tax credit, it bumps our interest rate to 6.31%. There are more strings attached. If you move…for any reason…within three years of purchasing your house, you must repay the $8000. Also, you dont get the money until 30 days after closing. So there is no help for those needing down payment assistance. 🙂
    I’m not even going to comment on OBAMA…other than he is an idiot. Putting it nicely!

    • Sheri says:

      Thanks for adding in the particulars. Is the interest rate bumped up because of federal regulations attached to the tax credit or it is the lender bumping up the rate?

  2. Chrystal says:

    federal regulations. we see it as “you wanna use our money, you gotta pay for it.” in the long run its just not worth it.

  3. Elaine says:

    Figures ( about the $8000).

    He couldn’t get through the Senate Confirmation hearings….well maybe with the current congress seeing as they seem to be about rubber stamping everything he wants to do! 🙄

    I just can’t believe that the people of this country are so blinded by him that they cannot see the truth.

    Even so, Lord Jesus, COME!

Comments are closed.