Cedar Waxwing & Brown Thrasher

Cedar Waxwing video clips

Within the last couple of day we’ve seen and heard several dozen Cedar Waxwings. They are quite noisy with distinct high-pitched whistles. I guess they make their way through here every late winter/early spring, but they are late this year. I noticed them roosting in the weeping willow and cedar tree 2 days ago and found them foraging underneath the holly tree today. Bear said they were eating all the berries. Interesting birds, these waxwings. The ones were saw were mostly a light brown with a lot of golden tone to them, golden-yellow underbellies, their characteristic black mask, tufted head, and red tipped wing. They also have the reputation for being gluttons. I hope the weather clears and that they stick around long enough for me to get some pictures.

We have a couple Brown Thrashers nesting in the bushes & honeysuckle vines near the chicken house. They are regular visitors to the birdbath and seem to prefer eating in the side lawn. I don’t know if it’s the same pair as we’ve had before, but they are less shy this year.

This entry was posted in Bird Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cedar Waxwing & Brown Thrasher

  1. seeker86 says:

    What a treat:) I enjoyed the video. I hear the birds all the time but the last few days I haven’t seen many.

Comments are closed.