A Great Bird Day 4/14/09

“Hey! The Purple Martins (Progne subis) are here!” ::everybody runs outside:: I did not make a note of when they arrived last year, shame on me, but the year before they arrived on the 19th of April. I also wrote that we saw the scouts, which is incorrect. Martins don’t send scouts, they are just the older birds, which just makes sense.

Also spotted:
In the hay field about halfway back, along the fenceline, a Red-winged Blackbird (Agelaius phoeniceus). This is the first year that I’ve seen these on our property, although I see them everywhere else. I hope they like us enough to stay.

A large, male Meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta or Sturnella magna) on a hayfield fence post. He was in full-blown breeding plumage – beautiful!

A group of 6 or so Turkey Vultures having dinner. We didn’t stop to see what they were eating, but thanked them for keeping our highways and byways clean.

This entry was posted in Bird Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Great Bird Day 4/14/09

  1. seeker86 says:

    Those are beautiful. I haven’t seen any around here. We have mockingbirds, cardinals and finches. I used the site you linked to to help me figure out what the mockingbird was:) That is a wonderful site. I have an owl in my backyard too but I’ve never seen him. We hear him when we BBQ.

    Maybe your Mr. Owl is waiting for a dinner invitation! I can only recall sighting an owl around here once, but we, quite often, hear them in the woods.

  2. seeker86 says:

    LOL I forgot to say we see downey woodpeckers too. I didn’t know there name until I found the website:)

  3. Chrystal says:

    What were the birds we use to hear all the time at the A-Frame in Minot?

    I bet you’re thinking of the mourning doves.

Comments are closed.