How did I celebrate EArth HouR?

Let me count the ways. 

Our day began with Bear and I trekking across this fair city  in our 7-passenger vehicle.  We did not carpool because the increased weight in the van will decrease my mpg.  We stopped at McD’s for breakfast because Earthling bodies only function optimally with a good breakfast.

While on the other side of town, we combined our errands and shopped our favorite uberconsumer store, Costco, the queen of big packages.  We all know that it is more efficient to buy more than one needs.

I know you are dying to find out what amazing purchases we loaded into our 7-passenger vehicle.  Feast your eyes:

  • 12 MEGA rolls of Bounty paper towels
  • 36 rolls of individually wrapped septic tank-friendly toilet paper
  • a case & a half of Diet Dr. Pepper – in cans.  Say NO to plastic!
  • 35 bottles of NATURAL spring water – yes, it’s plastic, but each bottle is “Eco-Shaped” (i kid you not!)
  • 250 pieces of FunHouse Treats because it’s Earth Hour Day and I feel nice

We also grabbed a couple KOSHER Costco Dogs to go.  In the name of efficiency, once again.

The House Fairy showed up today and the floors were vacuumed with a super high suck BAGLESS vacuum and then the floors were mopped with store-bought chemicals.  It’s so nice of those people to take such good care of all those hazardous materiels for us and put them in safe, pretty little packages. We turned on the fans and opened the windows to dissipate the noxious fumes as quickly as possible.  I think the birds liked it.

Because it requires little cooking time and in the name of diversity, I really considered going back into town for some Chinese food, but I opted to use our own animalian food sources here on the homestead.  I was very careful not to burn anything so that I didn’t have to run the exhaust fan or expend anymore elbow grease. 

It’s almost 8PM and EArth HouR is only half an hour away.  I’m SO excited.  My favorite scented hydrocarbon candles are lit and it is CFLs only tonite.  I will also dim my 24″ monitor to its lowest setting as I see how my cyberbuddies are celebrating.  Oh!  I think that was a thrill going up my leg!

 

How did you celebrate EArth HouR?  I will need some new ideas for next year.

This entry was posted in just 'cuz. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How did I celebrate EArth HouR?

  1. Chrystal says:

    Maybe once I understand what Earth Hour is, I will be able to come up with some more ideas. I’m sure you have a link for me right?
    😉

    Google It, Baby!

  2. Earth hour????

    I watched TV.

  3. seeker86 says:

    Turned off a few lights and celebrated that I was not in CA with rolling blackouts:) Voluntary blackouts are much better because you can watch a movie on TV LOL

  4. Elaine says:

    I had no idea, nor do I curently have time to Google it. As for what I did last night:
    spent time on the computer keeping tabs on Mt Redoubt – talk about polution, wanna bet the Greenies will be all over Anchorage about how bad their air quality was yesterday? Or better yet how about the Drift River flooding by the 6 million, secure, gallons of oil sitting in holding tanks surrounded by multiple walls?

    spent time talking on the phone w/hubby about how he may or may not be getting home on Tuesday.

    spent time learning to play RAGE with the boy, we’ll finish today.

    Oh, I did drive my SUV to Anchorage yesterday, no car pooling for me, did some shopping at Costco, great minds think alike GF =), and then drove home to park in my handy dandy garage.

  5. Donna says:

    I didn’t know about it until it was half-way over.

  6. appliejuice says:

    LOL I didn’t know about Earth Hour until I read it somewhere on the day of. I didn’t “celebrate” it, but I did send the girls to bed. Their night lights were on, because they are afraid of the dark. Then the young man and I watched Zoro on TV. All lights were out. Except for the ones the girls kept turning on to come downstairs. Oh, and I had two glasses of wine in a real wine glass, no plastic for me. 🙂 I also had two loads of clothes going in the washer and dryer. Full blast too.

    I must say we are making sure that we do save energy around. It has nothing to do with “Earth whatever”. It has everything to do with the money in our pockets. 🙂

    It would be fun to turn off all the lights and play games by candle light. That would make an interesting family night. 😀

  7. Melanie says:

    How exciting! I’m so sorry I missed it. 😦 LOL

  8. Chrystal says:

    I should have known you were going to tell me to google it. Maybe one of these days I might remember that before calling you or asking questions so easily answered with GOOGLE!

Comments are closed.