Potato Soup #1

5 lbs potatoes, peeled & diced

1 stick butter

1-2 C whole milk

1/2 pint of cream

Penzey’s Buttermilk Ranch spices – scant tablespoon or so

white pepper – several dashes

garlic salt – dash or two

Boil your potatoes until done.  Drain (save your water if you make homemade bread).  Add stick of butter to pan and melt over low heat, add spices, add potatoes.  Pour in milk and cream, stirring to break up the potatoes pieces. Add more liquid as needed. Cook until warmed through.  Serve immediately.  Top with all kinds of goodies if you’re going for the loaded potato or just eat it plain. A bit of shredded cheddar is a must around here.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Potato Soup #1

  1. oh my GOODNESS! A STICK of butter? This has to be good. 🙂
    Love,
    Sylvia
    Absolutely, and cream!

  2. seeker86 says:

    Yummy! I’m always looking for a something new to do with potatoes.

  3. appliejuice says:

    My husband doesn’t like potato soup. He’s weird. My kids won’t eat potatoes unless it is a french fry. They’re weird. I like lumps in my mashed potatoes. I’m normal.

  4. Chrystal says:

    If my stomach wasn’t so upset…i’d be hungry from reading this.
    sounds yummy.

  5. We love potato soup, but I usually put kielbasa or smoked sausage in it….it sticks in the kids’ tummies longer! I’ll have to try your recipe.

Comments are closed.