Christmas Twosey Tuesday

christmaswindow Two more days until  Christmas morning! 

I bought myself two new Christmas CDs from iTunes this year:

Martina McBride ‘White Christmas’ and Celtic Woman ‘Christmas Album’.

The Celtic Women do an amazing things with their voices, but then I am partial to outstanding soprano voices.  I’ve always enjoyed Martina McBride’s power and she does a beautiful job with “O Holy Night”. I can’t imagine anyone not like that song. There is also a cute song dubbed with Dean Martin,  “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”. It was probably a racy song in it’s day.

In honor of sophisticated, pre-Establishment type of entertainment, my first TT question: Dean, Frank, Sammy, Joey, or Peter — which of the 60s Rat Pack do you favor? I’m with Dean all the way — my mother would be pleased. If you’re too young to remember the Rat Pack then maybe you can choose from the Brat Pack: Emilio Esteves, Rob Lowe, Judd Nelson and the lot. I don’t think I had a favorite from that bunch, but I loved the movies The Breakfast Club and St. Elmo’s Fire at the time. Nothing sophisticated or pre-Establishment about that stuff though. LOL.

So anyway, back to Christmas. Do you have a favorite Christmas hymn? I like most of them, but I love to play “What Child Is This?” on the piano because I just cannot sing this song well. On the other hand, I like to sing “O Come All Ye Faithful” because I can’t play this one well (3 #s, ya know).  I only dream that I can belt out :  

Fall on your knees! Oh, hear the angel voices! 

O night divine, the night when Christ was born; …

 


 

 

This entry was posted in Twosey Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Twosey Tuesday

  1. seeker86 says:

    My favorite is “Breath of Heaven” I first heard it on an Amy Grant Christmas album my aunt gave me. Then I heard it done again by Eden’s Bridge. They are a Christian Celtic band I love. My favorite one everybody knows is “Joy to the World”… Let heaven and nature sing:)

  2. seeker86 says:

    Sheri, You inspired me again. You do that for me a lot:) I posted up my favorite song:) Thanks for all the great ideas you share.
    ~Lisa

  3. mnkristy says:

    My favorite song that brings tears to my eyes every Christmas morning is “Today a Child is Born on the Earth.” I don’t know who sings it, but I love it and think the woman has an amazing voice.

  4. Chrystal says:

    O’ Holy Night is one of my favorites. The version sung by Martina McBride is one of the best I think. In like the Prince of Peace/ Hark the Herald Angels sing by the Trans Siberian Orchestra. I could listen to it all year round. And I couldn’t get through Christmas without the Garth Brooks Christmas Album. I guess there are just to many to choose from. I love it all! 🙂

  5. Donna says:

    Of the rat pack, I preferred Frank.
    I like “What Child Is This?”

    Merry Christmas Sheri!

  6. My favorire hymns are “Oh Little Town of Bethlehem” and
    “O’ Holy Night.” I love to sing songs during the holidays. Who doesn’t.

  7. Tressa says:

    I am not sure that I could just pick one song. Hmm..let me see…I love “For Unto Us a Child is Born” in Handel’s Messiah which I didn’t get to see because of the snow. Now, for ones that I can actually sing…Hark the Herald Angels Sing maybe.

    Thank you for the Christmas card! That was really sweet of you.

Comments are closed.