Sweet Potato Casserole – This Thanksgiving’s Hit

We celebrated Thanksgiving today. I was pleased with how everything came out, but these sweet potatoes were really delicious, so I’m sharing for those of you that have yet to celebrate.

2-16 oz. cans of Bruce’s yams in orange & pineapple sauce
1 – 1 1/2 C toasted coconut (amt will vary according to how much you like coconut)
1 C toasted walnuts
big marshmallows – enough to cover

Butter your baking dish.  Drain one can of the yams and add yams and all of the other can to dish.  Sprinkle with toasted coconut (reserve a bit for a topping) & toasted walnuts.  Bake at 350* for 30-40.  Top with marshmallows and brown being careful not to burn the mallows.  Sprinkle with leftover toasted coconut.

Next time I make this, I will use a little less of the liquid, it was still a little soupy, but that soupy stuff was so good.

 
You have to keep a constant eye on your coconut when you are toasting it because it will burn in an instant.  Use a shallow pan and a single layer of coconut for best results.

I toasted the nuts in my iron skillet.  Keep the heat low to avoid scorching your nuts.  

How To Toast Coconut & Nuts

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet Potato Casserole – This Thanksgiving’s Hit

  1. seeker86 says:

    Ohh yummy!!! I want some! I don’t get sweet potatoes on Thanksgiving because no one likes them but me. I can’t believe there is no brown sugar. I bet it is still really sweet though with the marshmallows and pineapple. Yum!

    These are plenty sweet, almost knocked my socks off….then I had another helping!

  2. Elaine says:

    Sounds very good and I could serve these to hubby but I’d have to leave out the coconut as he is not a coconut eater.

    I toasted coconut last weekend for the coconut cream pies I made and I did it on the stovetop in my cast iron skillet – worked great but I did find that they toast quickly. 🙂

Comments are closed.