Twosey Tuesday

I am sick. I hate being sick.

Tell me your TWO most used comfort measures for sore throats when you or a loved one are sick.
1 – the old-fashioned, and always effective, warm salt-water gargles
2 – the nasty tasting, and generally effective, Chloraseptic spray – cherry flavored.

Tomorrow, although ironically unconnected with being sick, I have a Dr’s appointment.
TWO ways you pass the time in waiting rooms.
1 – crochet
2 – read my own material. I don’t touch waiting room magazines — they have cooties.

This entry was posted in Twosey Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Twosey Tuesday

  1. Applie says:

    I never thought of waiting room magazines have cooties. Now I do. Thanks a lot.

    I also crochet while waiting. I get funny looks and I don’t care. 😀

    My kids suffer when they have a sore throat because they won’t take anything. Two of the kids will take a cold medicine, but won’t gargle. They will drink lots of O.J. with GSE drops in it.

  2. Chrystal says:

    Cooties Mom???
    🙂
    I tend to eat a bag of cough drops a day when my throat is sore. In between cough drops it’s the chloraseptic. I hate sore throats. They are the worst. And strep throat…well that’s just plain horrible if you ask me. Hope I never get it again…

  3. Donna says:

    I hope you get better soon! I hate having a sore throat and I haven’t had a bad one in many years (PTL). I would do the same two things that you mentioned plus a few more things. I learned that certain cold medicines were too rough on me and made me worse, so I avoided them.

    When the kids had a sore throat, I would try to spray their throat with Chloraseptic spray, but they had a hard time getting their tongue down and out of the way. So, there was I coaching the child and suddenly there would be a one-second opening where I could finally see their throat and I’d spray. Problem, I was always soooooo intent on their little mouth that I always sprayed myself in the face first. always. every time, even twice a day, 3 times a day.

    I bet it wasn’t always funny at the time, but man oh man, I’m getting a good laugh right now! Thanks Donna…I needed that! I found some Cepastat spray that has benzocaine in it, which works great….I’d hate to spray that on my face.

  4. For sore throats, I generally eat butterscotch. Cough drops are basically mentholated candy, and the mentholated doesn’t do much for me, so I why should I suck on something that tastes gross???

    I also like to do a steam. Boil some water, put a bit of Vicks in a bowl, pour the boiling water over, cover your head with a towel, and stick your face in the steam. Works every time.

    I am generally never in a waiting room long enough to do anything. Generally the chips and I will sit and chat.

    Your are blessed not to have long waits!

  5. Pingback: Twosey Tuesday, ecept it’s on Wednesday (Thurs. here) ~ October 30, 2008 « Valley Life In Alaska

  6. Elaine says:

    I posted my preferences.

  7. Melanie says:

    I’m sorry you were sick! Are you feeling better yet, Sheri?

    We don’t do anything special for sore throats. If the pain is bad enough for anyone to consider medication, then it’s probably strep and a trip to the doctor is in order. Luckily that is rarely the case!

    I knit and torment The Goobers while we are waiting. The Goobers try to read and seethe because they are not allowed to torment me back. LOL

    Donna, that is funny!

  8. seeker86 says:

    Hope you are feeling better Sheri.
    I always worry about cooties too:)

    I do all the same stuff. Except my friend got me into oils too so I use peppermint oil for sinus and Thieves oil to help get over fast. Thieves has (clove, rosemary and a bunch of other stuff I can’t remember) It smells good like pumpkin pie.
    It’s called Thieves because apparently it was used by thieves during the plague to rob houses of people who died from the plague. I have no source for this other than my friends word for it. It makes for a good story nonetheless.
    Also I use chicken soup. I wish I was close enough to make some for you, sweet friend.
    Feel better soon.

    That is a good story, Lisa! LOL I think the “pocketful of posies” also has something to do with the plagues, but I don’t think it was about thievery. lol

  9. Donna says:

    Actually when I squirted myself in the face, it was always funny, even back then when I did it. =)

    My youngest has been using Chloraseptic this week. Every time he gives it a go, I tell him not to squirt it in his face and we both just giggle. He only knows half of it though. 😉

  10. Momma Knows says:

    The difference between Cappucinos and Lattes:
    Lattes are espresso with steamed milk.
    Cappucinos are espresso with steamed milk FOAM. Either may have flavors added.
    If you’re not making them super duper foamy, they are lattes.
    😉
    My husband and I run an espresso cafe on Sundays at our church.

    Some days they are foamier than others….maybe we should call them cappulattes. That is cool that you run the coffee bar. 😀

  11. Donna says:

    🙂 That’s funny about the chloraseptic Sheri. I’m going to use some chloraseptic today as soon as I am finished eating. I mentioned chloraseptic to Holly this morning, she just giggled.

Comments are closed.