Squeezing Pennies

Lisa at Wildflower Academy wrote a thought-provoking post about Economizing. Who doesn’t want to make the most out of their hard-earned money these days? So much of said money slips away before we even see the first penny, that financial wisdom, frugality, and self-control are the essentials of today’s economy. I could rant and rave for hours about what constitutes a right or a privilege and the differences between biblical taxation and thievery, but that is the stink of it. So, whatcha gonna do ’bout it? Lisa brought up some helpful links and ideas and I’m sure others will be posting their thoughts on her blog, too. These really get me thinking about how to be a better manager of our income. How can we maintain our essentials and still make those home improvements, save for college expenses, or fluff our retirement nest egg? It’s getting to be more of a challenge when your weekly grocery shopping tops out over $100 every single trip. With my fairly recent dietary changes, the grocery bill has gone up even more. My last trip to the commissary was pushing $300…granted the cart was near overflowing. This week’s trip was just over $100. So, $400 and it’s only the 16th. Google frugal and you’ll get about 9 million links in an eighth of a second. It is definitely on our collective minds.

The most obvious thing that we do is eat at home. We’re not big on “fine dining”, but we’re sure ones to hit the local Sonic on the way to hither and thither.

I use the cookbook “More With Less” for several of our favorite recipes. Is that not the perfect name for a timely cookbook? This book is so timely that it was first published in 1976. It should reside right next to your Betty Crocker Cookbook. 🙂 The quick cobbler is easy, delicious, cheap, and will satiate the sweetest tooth. There are recipes for baking mixes that are so much better than the store-bought stuff and significantly cheaper. The creamed chicken is a very homey dish and my most used recipe from this book. I’ve recently discovered the beauty and complexity of curry. Guess what….curry recipes in thar. They also have recipes for soybeans though I can’t quite get into stinky soybeans.

I buy chicken legs a lot…yes, the lowly chicken leg. They are cheap, my family’s favorite and thanks to genetically-enhanced 🙄 chickens….they are huge and have plenty of meat on the bone. Buy whole chickens, too. Do whatever it is you do with your chicken, stew it, bake it, grill it, and recycle.

Use that carcass!
Boil dem bones!
In a crockpot!
Or on da stove!

This entry was posted in Homekeeping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Squeezing Pennies

  1. seeker86 says:

    We had chicken legs last night. I’m going to check out that cookbook “More with Less”. Sounds right up my alley. I like whole chickens too. I usually roast it or crockpot it the first night and make it into soup the second night. Thanks for the tips. I’m off to check out your link:)

    Today I was looking at some gifts to make for Christmas and stylish ways to update my wardrobe. I found that crochet topped shirts are big in the department stores online. I was thinking I may cut off the tops of some of my old t-shirts or tank tops and make a new shirt with a crocheted top. This combines three of my favorite things crochet, fashion and saving money.

    You are creatively braver than I am and they sound lovely!

  2. Applie says:

    I have that More With Less cookbook. I have use only a few recipes out of it. My Betty Crocker book is my favorite and it is falling apart. LOL

    We buy a roaster, then roast it, then use the bones for broth. We stretch it out. 🙂

    Lisa, I like your ideas for the t-shirst.

  3. tressays says:

    My favorite frugal cookbook is “6 Ingredients or Less”. She has a lot of great recipes in there. I feel your pain about food prices. I am spending $300 every two weeks at the commissary and I am not feeding a husband right now. We actually had drumsticks the other night. Chicken breasts are going to become a treat.

  4. Elaine says:

    To be perfectly honest I have not paid close attention to my grocery bill. I do a lot of bulk shopping and stockpiling of sale items. I like to buy a lot of my meat from the mark down bin at the grocery store. I manage to get some really nice cuts this way that I couldn’t otherwise afford. Then I just go shopping for meals in my freezer – works great.

    I’m not good at utilizing the whole carcass of a chicken so what I usually do is bag it up after we’re done and then pass it on to the individual making soup for our church’s food bank. This way I can feel good about not utilizing it for my family w/o the stress of doing so and wasting because the family (re: the kids) won’t eat it.

Comments are closed.