How To Get Your Kids to Eat Zucchini

First of all you find this recipe for Zucchini, Sour Cream, and Jack Cheese Bake. Immediately rename the recipe. We are calling it Zucchini Jack.

Serves 4

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1/2 cup finely chopped green onion (sweet onion b/c you are going to caramelize)
1 clove garlic, minced (uh, 3 cloves)
1 lb. zucchini, trimmed and sliced 1/8-inch thick
1/2 cup grated Jack cheese – hot pepper is good! (no it’s not)
1 egg
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp. salt
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh basil or I tsp. dried (really makes the dish, imo)
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Butter an 8 by 8-inch baking dish. (let your kids pick the dish)

Melt 1 Tbsp. of the butter in a large frying pan over medium heat. Add the onion and garlic and sauté until the onion is translucent. Scrape into a large bowl. Melt the remaining butter over medium high heat in the same frying pan. Add the zucchini and cook, stirring frequently until the moisture has evaporated and the zucchini is tender. Transfer to a food processor and pulse until smooth. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse to combine. Add the onions and pulse once. (or throw it all in and pulse it anyway you way you want to, baby) Pour into the prepared baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes until lightly golden.

Zucchini for JackZucchini Jack

Next, you enlist their help. One plays paparazzi and gets to play with the camera & the other plays chef and gets to play with your kitchen toys.

While having fun and ignoring the onions, you discuss the difference between scorched onions and caramelized onions. Their onions are, naturally, perfectly caramelized.

Make sure you grate too much jack cheese, so that you can squish it in your hands and make cheeseballs to pop into their mouths.

Meanwhile you cook their steaks wrapped in bacon; completely overwhelming their sense of smell and anticipatory sense of taste. Yes, make them drool!

Scoop out their Zucchini Jack and allow them to sprinkle parmesan cheese to their heart’s desire.

In essence, it is the old trick of drowning their veggies in cheese. Works for me!

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Low Carb, Photos, Recipe Box, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To Get Your Kids to Eat Zucchini

  1. heathertopia says:

    It looks good and sounds good…but you ruined it with onions 😛 I don’t like onions, but I will use onion powder, just not a real onion 😛

    I can have my boys show you how to caramelize onions…they really are much better and sweeter this way.

  2. seeker86 says:

    Yummy!! I love zucchini but I don’t eat it as much here. In CA everyone always brought it to me out of the overabundance of their gardens. My girls don’t like it so I don’t buy it much:(

  3. Applie says:

    My kids won’t eat that. 😦

    You have one of those nice fancy platters! I have my eyeballs on those.

  4. tressays says:

    I am envious of the dish that you cooked it in. I would eat it just because of the pretty dish. 🙂

    I love that stuff — it is Polish Pottery. One of the perks of being stationed in Europe. 😀

  5. Chrystal says:

    Works for me too! 🙂

Comments are closed.