Twosey Tuesday

If you don’t mind indulging me for a moment.

As you may have read, I am having a fit with Shurley grammar. I am wondering what two curricula, programs, or books have given you a fit or two.

  • obviously, Shurley is getting the best of me
  • We had problems finding a spelling program that wasn’t either a waste of time or a traumatic experience for my sons. I bought and pitched: Spelling Power (oh how I tried!), CLP’s Building Spelling Skills, and Spelling Workout.
  • If you are disgusted with spelling, may I suggest Sequential Spelling?

    And because I wouldn’t want to be accused of being unfair and unbalanced….what are two of your all-time favorite, effective, or fun curricula or programs.

  • Astronomy from Apologia science: this is our all-around, all-time favorite.
  • Math-U-See is awesome! I should introduce Steve to Shurley.
  • Advertisements
    This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Twosey Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

    7 Responses to Twosey Tuesday

    1. Donna says:

      Shurley Grammar, after all, does have hurl in its name. 😉

      I noticed that new grammar programs offer an undesired learning curve. I didn’t like the two main grammar programs that I used at first, then I got to know them, then I liked them a lot. =) I’m glad I didn’t hurl them

      Fits: Saxon Algebra I & II (hurled them)
      Liked best: Dr Wile’s physical science and biology, plus almost everything else we used.

      Hurl LOL! That should be a big clue stick to warn folk!

    2. Pingback: Twosey Tuesday « Valley Life In Alaska

    3. Pingback: Twosey Tuesday « Heathertopia

    4. heathertopia says:

      I just posted mine on my blog 😀

    5. Melanie says:

      ROTFL

      Let’s see. I hated Latin’s Not So Tough and the Critical Thinking books.

      I love Saxon Algebra 1 and 2. (Sorry, Donna!) And I love Henle Latin and Lingua Latina and Rod & Staff grammar and Traditional Logic and – oh, yeah. We were supposed to stop at two. Oops. 😀

      Sometimes it’s hard to stop talking about all the great homeschool stuff! I didn’t want to stop at two either!
      I was ready to start Traditional Logic this year, but I think it was a good decision for us to wait another year. Both boys like the Dr DooRiddles and they love Editor in Chief.

    6. tressays says:

      Donna, LOL at the “hurl” comment. No kidding! I still don’t understand why Shurley felt the need to reinvent the wheel.

      Can I still play?
      Wanted to chuck: Writing Strands and Spelling Power
      Loved: Rod and Staff Grammar and Latina Christiana

      Tressa, you can play anytime! I’m with you on the Writing Strands, too. Jensen’s is so much better, imho.

    7. daysofchaos says:

      FYI. It’s Carmen aka God’s Army Academy. Come check me out on my new blog. I have been updating since Sept 1, and I am hiding from family who like to judge things said on blogs. HA. Update your blogroll and see what the boys are up to.

      What a surprise! Welcome back to the bloggyworld, Carmen! 🙂

    Comments are closed.