Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ 2

FOR TODAY July 21, 2008…

Outside My Window… I see the haze of a very hot & humid day – dragonflies buzzing & butterflies flittering about the hayfield and the garden.

I am thinking… about cocooning – a rather modern term for shutting oneself up to avoid the problems and conflicts that surround & sometimes suffocate us. As a christian, this is not acceptable. In times like these, we are to go boldly before the throne of grace, leave our burdens & worries, and tell others of this wonderful privilege and the saving grace of Jesus Christ. Easier said than done.

I am thankful for… VBS. With an average nightly attendance of 90 children, 9 children made a profession of faith – more than I had originally known of. Hallelujah!

From the kitchen… strong coffee & steamed milk = the best drink in the world

I am wearing… a fairly standard attire for a summer work day around the house: shorts & tank top.

I am creating… I started another round ripple afghan for one of my best friends. She is such a treasure and prays for me unceasingly. Her kidneys are not functioning so well and I want to make her a cuddly lap blanket in her favorite color. I’ll post a picture on my crochet blog when I’m finished.

I am going… I have a music lesson, the boys have taekwondo class and we’ll probably make a quick trip into Walmart or Kroger at some point today. There is also a cookout with our homeschool support group for the “double digits”, but we’ll probably have to pass on that, as it is scheduled the same time as above.

I am reading… A Taste of Home’s Church Supper magazine that I bought at Sam’s this past week.

I am hoping… my husband has a quiet shift at work this evening. It is hot, hot, hot! You’d think people would want to stay calm, cool, and out of trouble when it’s like this. Unfortunately, that is not always the case.

I am hearing… My dogs are barking at something. Grandpa must be outside.

Around the house… With two back to back weeks of constant coming and going, my house looks like a dumping ground. It will take a day or two to get it back in working order.

One of my favorite things… the smell of honeysuckle

A Few Plans For The Rest Of The Week: Our goal is 4 taekwondo classes + 1 weapons class per week.

Here is picture thought I am sharingDaylilies

If you like the idea of The Simple Woman’s Daybook – visit the hostess of The Simple Woman’s Daybook at her

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Woman’s Daybook ~ 2

  1. seeker86 says:

    Sounds like a busy week. I’ll pray for your friend’s kidneys to keep functioning properly. I feel like cocooning a lot. Thanks for setting a good example to keep on trucking in the strength of the Lord. We are off to TKD today too. 5 classes in a week sounds like a lot to me. Are they training for a competition? Praying God will give you strength and courage for the week ahead.

    Thank you Lisa! They want to compete in their first tournament next month. Weapons class is immediately after their Thursday class….they usually look forward to this class all week. 🙂
    Cocooning is something I have to fight against. I could be a happy hermit!

  2. Elaine says:

    I’ve been guilty of doing the cocooning thing, usually it’s on a specific area of my life and not just staying home and avoiding everything and everyone. Sometimes the Lord just has to break down the barriers I’ve set up and when he does it’s always a surprise to me. He also tends to use people to do it that love me inspite of what I’ve done or not done. In fact just Monday He did it and used hubby to know me from behind that wall/cocoon. And the reaction that I expected was no where near as bad as reality – you’d think I’d know this by now, God gave me to the MOST WONDERFUL MAN He ever created!!

    Now wait a minute — I thought I had the most wonderful man He ever created! LOL! God is good!!

Comments are closed.