Memphis Zoo

I’ll let you in on a little secret. Memphis can actually do one thing, other than BBQ Ribs, right. Yep, the Memphis Zoo. We spent 7+ hours here this last Wednesday. And what a glorious day it was….perfect temps & comfortable humidity for all the humans and animals to play outside! The Memphis Zoo is also home to YaYa and LeLe and 1 of the 4 zoos in the U.S. that has Giant Pandas. They have a $16 million home here….. I sure hope they’re happy.


Here we are visiting Primate Canyon. This guy was a bit on the nervous side. Nervous gorillas — not good.


I kept waiting for the ballet, but she was more interested in food on the ground.


This is a Chinese Alligator. You can tell by the …… never mind. She, or he, does not want to be our friend.


My favorite! South something or other penguins. They actually love our Memphis climate. You should see them do their penguin thing to the tune of ZZ Top’s Sharp Dressed Man. LOL!

Travel Tip: When in Memphis, skip Graceland, do the zoo, and eat plenty of Memphis-style ribs.

This entry was posted in Family, Happenings, Homeschooling, Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Memphis Zoo

  1. Donna says:

    The weather has been nice hasn’t it?

    That must be a really nice zoo to keep you there for over 7 hours! =) I’d love to see the penguins do their penguin thing. LOL

  2. Tresses says:

    Nice pics! 😀

    I don’t know, Sheri. I’m thinkin’ that gator really wants to be your friend. Really. 😉

  3. Elaine says:

    You need Applie there to subdue the alligator, I’m sure she could handle a Chinese one as well as she does the American ones 😉

    Next time I’m in Tenn. I’m kidnapping the TN ladies and making you all go with me to the Zoo :nodshead: Anyone else who would want to come would be welcome as well.

  4. It sounds like a fun day. I’d love to go to the Memphis Zoo. We went to the Aquarium in Chattanooga last summer and had a great time there. The zoo on a perfect temp day would be fun! Nice pictures! That gorilla looks very intimidating.

  5. Melanie says:

    Skip Graceland? Seriously? LOL

    Looks like you had a great day! Love the alligator picture. 🙂

  6. Chrystal says:

    These pictures are great. Gotta love those Canon cameras! I love the hippo comment. Glad you guys had a great day. You had to throw all that stuff in there about Memphis BBQ though didn’t ya? Now I am wanting some REAL BBQ. Not this Kansas City stuff!

Comments are closed.