Posting Per Request

Update: Handmade Afghans to Thank Our Armed Forces Project
What do 60-some crocheted 6″x9″ rectangles look like? Well, something like this….here are 42 rectangles. I was handed about 20 more from one of my teen girls at church after I snapped this photo. She and her grandmother did them together. I think that is precious. EDITED TO ADD: I must clarify that I did not crochet all of these squares. I asked a couple ladies at church and my teen girls’ Sunday school class if they’d be interested. They were interested! I did about a dozen or more …. lost count after awhile. rectangles.jpg

I received a yarn shipment this past week. I say “shipment” because I bought from Discount Yarn Sale online and they deal in bulk quantities. So, I have 10 skeins of Patons Decor, a wool/acrylic blend —-> thus, it is washable! I am using the hook size recommended for the pattern, although it is larger than what is suggested on the yarn label. I can’t decide what I think about this yet. The color is beautiful, BTW! No, there are no forthcoming pictures….at this time, anyway.

We are wrapping up our study of Remarkable Women of the Bible. This has been nearly a year long teaching project. Wow, I never would have guessed. I love God for giving us so many examples of faithful women who worked for & glorified God despite their own shortcomings. Like the song says, “little is much, when God is in it”!

Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice…..does it get any better than this? It helps that oranges are affordable and delicious this time of year!

Taekwondo — I have a meeting with one of the instructors this evening, as we (the boys and their paying parents, that is) have been invited to join the Black Belt Club. Don’t you just love how sales people word things? That is the goal, regardless, and I am glad the boys are doing well in their latest endeavor.

Homeschooling is languishing due to lack of interest. I will blame that on a 2nd shift lifestyle and leave it at that.

Speaking of a 2nd shift lifestyle….eating a big meal at noon is really taking some getting used to. Not that eating that much food at noon is any problem (hahaha), it is the preparation & planning of that much food at noon that is the problem. Why is my pea brain not making this transition? Dunno? I’m sure it has something to do with staying up late & getting up between 8:30 and 9:30, then handling raw meat & chopping onions within the first 2-3 hours of the day. Yuck. Somehow, I don’t seem to mind the late night hours….not one bit.

My dear MIL is not feeling so well these days. Please keep her in your prayers as she continues her battle with cancer.

Aahhhkkk, time to handle some raw meat……TTFN!

K-I am baaack….one more picture of our latest DIY home projects. Now hanging a ceiling fan with one’s husband can damage a marriage. I’ve heard hanging wallpaper can actually make or break the relationship and thus, shall never be attempted at the Wolfe Den. Nevertheless, we overcame & our homeschool room fan is fully operational and pleasing to my eye. Definitely brightens this dreary paneled room!
fan.jpg

Potato Head say “HI!”

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Happenings, Homeschooling, Plays with Yarns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Posting Per Request

  1. Elaine says:

    That is a lot of squares. I may still try to do some but I also need to do some for a comfort afghan for my friend in my crochet guild that lost her 16 son the last Saturday of the year. That is one that I am committed to helping with – need to get going on that. I will also try to do some for this project you are helping with as well.

    I understand how you are having trouble with the shift changes in your hubby’s job. While mine is gone we struggle w/getting back on track and then when he comes home he struggles with getting off the track he’s been on for 2 weeks. Not easy to do and healthy cooking is tough.

    Love the fan and glad the family survived the process.

  2. Chrystal says:

    Glad I will be there next month to see Grandma. She is in my prayers.
    I do love the new fan. It has an arts and crafts look to it. Very pretty.
    Thanks for finally posting an update! LOL. I see my email worked. 🙂

  3. appliejuice says:

    You did a great job on the squares and hanging a ceiling fan. 😀 I can tell you that hanging wallpaper can break a marriage. It almost did us in. LOL

  4. sleepymamma says:

    I have to say we have never attempted wallpaper hanging, but in this house any DIY projects are done as individuals….lol!!! I am trying to learn to knit and I was thinking maybe I should try to crochet since there is only one needle instead of two…lol… I am not sure I am coordinated enough to do this knitting thing but I keep trying!! Your squares look great!!

  5. Donna says:

    HI Potato Head!!! I see Mr. Potato Head made it to a place of honor in The Brainery. 😉

    Your ceiling fan looks very nice and I am glad you two survived the hang-a-light-fixture marriage test.

    I’m the Lone Wallpaper-Hanger Person. I was electrocuted once while hanging wallpaper. The house current run through my arms and chest. It didn’t seem to hurt me and was quite an experience. I went into to the living room and told hubby all about it. I was around 20 or 21 when that happened.

    I’ll pray for your MIL. ((hugs))

  6. seeker86 says:

    EDITED TO ADD: I must clarify that I did not crochet all of these squares. I asked a couple ladies at church and my teen girls’ Sunday school class if they’d be interested. They were interested! I did about a dozen or more …. lost count after awhile.
    Thanks for telling me that. I was feeling pretty wimpy I only have 3 done:p I was going to sent them in when I have 10. What a great idea to ask the ladies at your church to help.

Comments are closed.