Handmade Afghan Project Update

update.gif How are you coming along on your rectangles?

Update on the date: The next meeting for a Put-Together is Feb. 3rd. If you’d like your rectangles to be there for this one, then the coordinator has requested that the rectangles be in her home by Jan. 25th.

To obtain her address and other additional information, you must contact her via the Rectangle 6 x 9 website If you are sending rectangles, she would like for you to contact her, so that she knows they are on the way.

A friend of mine asked if this was legitimate and not a scam for people to send their crochet work and then sold. Unfortunately, that is a legitimate question in these times. If you go to the site, you can click on a video clip (top right corner on homepage) from Fox News covering one of the put-together events, plus you can view many photographs of the afghan, the put-together events, and some photos of soldiers in the Afghanistan hospital with their ‘ghans.

usa_flag_soilders.gif

This entry was posted in Plays with Yarns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Handmade Afghan Project Update

  1. seeker86 says:

    Thanks for the info. Sheri.
    This is right up my alley. I saw a box of knitted and crocheted rectangles at my local Micheals. I asked if it was this project but she wasn’t sure if it was for something local or the servicemen. That may be an option too if I check with the manager about where they are going.

    That is cool, Lisa. I hadn’t thought about the local yarn shops and such participating in this as well, but I’m sure many of them do. ~S

  2. Donna says:

    I only have the time to do two rectangles, so I am finished. :mrgreen: They’re not mailed yet, I need to hunt down a tyvek mailer, I think I have one laying around here someplace.

    There you go again — expanding my vocabulary. “tyvek” Did you know, hazmat suits can be made from this stuff? 😀

    As they say, every rectangle counts!! ~S

  3. Donna says:

    😉 And there you go expanding mine (hazmat)

    teehee 🙂

  4. Elaine says:

    Ok, I’m thinking that I could/should join this band wagon. Let me see what I can do and maybe I can crochet up some. I’ll let you know.

    I’ll probably take a “page” from Donna’s blog about how to make sure that I’m making them the right size 😆

    OK, are the 2 of you having fun that you’ve never used the words “tyvek” and “hazmat” in a sentence before??

    Yes, join us, Elaine! I’m not going to send my first few in…they just don’t measure up…they are a smidge too big.
    And Yes, we were having fun. 😀 ~S

Comments are closed.