The Handmade Afghans to Thank Our Armed Forces Project

Do you knit? Do you crochet? Do you have some acrylic yarn you don’t know what to do with?

Here’s your answer —> HAP

Who? The Handmade Afghans to Thank Our Armed Forces Project aka Rectangle 6×9.org
What? A totally volunteer organization dedicated to providing comfort to America’s military men and women wounded in service to our country.
How? Volunteers of all ages in over 39 states & 2 other countries (and counting) knit and crochet 6″ x 9″ rectangles from acrylic, 4 ply worsted weight yarn. The completed rectangles are collected by a few volunteers, sorted by color, & stitched together. Chaplains and the Red Cross deliver the afghans to wounded servicemen & women in the hospital….mostly in the DC area.
Why? Because we love_hearthrob.gif them!!!!

Check out this website and read more … I bet your fingers will be itching before you finish! Go ahead–stitch up a rectangle or two or twenty.

I sent an email to them for more information and will post it, if given their OK.

Now….go dig through that stash of yours…..I KNOW you have one!

This entry was posted in Military, Plays with Yarns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Handmade Afghans to Thank Our Armed Forces Project

  1. appliejuice says:

    I have thought of doing this before. Thanks for the info. Sheri. 🙂

  2. Melanie says:

    Thanks for posting this, Sheri!

  3. Crud. I have no acrylic yarn.

    Walmart had some on clearance. 😉

  4. gingerporter says:

    Thank you and they are right in my backyard!!! I was going to donate the bag of acrylic I have….but now I guess I have something else to do with it…..:-)

    All ready sent an email volunteering since they are in my area….Thanks Sheri…..I am going to see if I can get our homeschool group involved also….

  5. Sheri says:

    I knew many of you would jump at this opportunity! 😀

    I do know that there will be one of their big put-togethers in Feb and that she’d like the rectangles by end of January…the 25th, I think, but I’ll post when I know for sure.

  6. Donna says:

    This is a very nice thing. Thanks for posting about it Sheri.

  7. Emilie says:

    This is so important for both the military and the people protected. I crochet and would send 6 x 9 rectangles as soon as practical.
    I need the name of a contact person and an address to mail the crocheted pieces to.
    Thank you so much,
    Emilie, St Louis MO

Comments are closed.