Our Christmasy House

ornament-a1-icon.gif I love decorating my home and I love the decorations that we’ve collected over the years. Some years the house is all-out decorated, this year, I’d say it is about half-out decorated. Nevertheless, as requested, I am sharing some of my Christmas spirit.

ceramictree.jpg
My most cherished Christmas decoration. My Mom made this sometime in the late 70s or 80s. I loved it when she made it and I am honored to put it out every year. Around it are miniature nativities that I bought in Germany. I tried to brighten the picture so you could see them better, but the tree is the main thing. The linens are classic German linens. I have no idea what material it is, but it is a wee bit shiny and supposedly washable.
lights1.gif

manger.jpg
This is the nativity set that I’ve been collecting for years. For a long time, it was a standing item on my Christmas wish list and many of the pieces were gifts. The glass hurricanes were gifts from my husband’s officers’ wives in Germany. They are one of my most versatile pieces and are out continuously in one fashion or another.
lights1.gif

manger2.jpg
This is the beautiful nativity that I fell in love with in Germany, the Kathe Wohlfahrt store to be exact. If you’re a military wife and you’ve been to Europe….you KNOW this store! I have a set of angels to go with this nativity, but they are in the china cabinet, where they joyfully reside all year.
lights1.gif

choirboys.jpg
These sweet little things are my choir boys. I was coveting the set my friend, Deena, had in her home. Well, what do you think I opened a few days later? I cannot look at these without thinking of her.
lights1.gif

Well, the mantle picture will have to wait….it is just too dark, so I’ll need Hubby’s photography skills for a better picture. I know ya’ll are just dying to see it.

redstar_christmas.gif

This entry was posted in Holidays, Homekeeping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Christmasy House

  1. Elaine says:

    What wonderful decorations that have such value. Thanks for sharing these with all of us.

  2. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

    I love the linens.

  3. Chrystal says:

    I forgot your ceramic tree was the white one. I have the green one and it’s my prized christmas decoration too. I feel pretty lucky to have it. I love that you mentioned the ‘Premier German Christmas Shoppe’. I was just blogging about that a week or so ago. Great minds think, I mean shop alike! 🙂

  4. You have some really beautiful decorations, Sheri! I love all your German items.
    My dad was stationed in Germany for 9 years when I was a kid and my mom brought back some nice things. We came back from Germany when I was 18, right after graduation from high school. I have great memories of Germany, but not many German items.

  5. Donna says:

    Your decorations look very nice! I remember when the ceramic Christmas trees were first popular. That was a long time ago.

  6. Melanie says:

    How pretty! My mom has a ceramic tree like yours, only it’s green and has “snow” on the tips of the branches. I love the choir boys. They’re so cute!

Comments are closed.