Fennel Bulb

I bought a fennel bulb…..Now whut I do wif it? kbai

Clean it
Slice it
Sniff it
Nibble it
Saute it

What a delightful find, this fennel bulb! At first it has the lovely aroma of anise or licorice. After slicing a bit off, I was quite sure I did not want this aroma in the big pot of vegetable beef & barley soup I was fixing, so I thought I would give it a quick saute in butter. Everything is better with butter. As it was cooking in my cast iron skillet, it reminded me, just barely, of frying eggplant (yum!). It has a delicate flavor that is hard to describe….you’ll just have to get your own. I continued to saute it and added celery and onions. Into the pot of soup it went; which btw, was fantastic. I can’t say the small amount of fennel bulb made it fantastic, it just turned out pleasingly well this time.

The entire fennel bulb is edible with the feathery green leaves used as herbs. When the plant is allowed to flower & go to seed, the fennel seeds are harvested from them. This is also the best season of the year to experiment with a fennel bulb, plus it is packed with antioxidants, other vitamins & minerals, and fiber. (check the link above for tons of nutritional info on fennel bulb)

It is on my grocery list. I plan on sauteing it with some onions for a very simple side dish to some grilled or baked salmon. I bet a hot dish of scalloped fennel bulb would be delicious, too.

This entry was posted in Food, Low Carb, Recipe Box, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fennel Bulb

  1. Donna says:

    Sounds yummy! I’ll have to look for it and try it.

    Kudos for your application of table tags. 😉

    Why thank you, LOL!

  2. Elaine says:

    OK I need to learn how to do that!!

  3. Chrystal says:

    I am having trouble finding this fennel bulb. I haven’t checked Hy-Vee yet, but everyone else gives me a blank look when I ask them if they have a fennel bulb. They try to take me to the dry spices. I am guessing it would be in produce right?

    Yes, you are looking for a fresh fennel bulb. There is also fennel, the seed, in the spice aisle, but that is not what you’re looking for. I didn’t find any today either. 😦

  4. Chrystal says:

    I think I will have to visit a produce stand maybe? There are a few still open around town.

Comments are closed.