Homemade Christmas Gift Ideas

Now, now, stop gasping and choking….it is NOT as early as you think! Check out this 12 week Holiday Timeline chart. I stumbled upon this yesterday only to find out that I am 4 weeks behind! AAAAHHH! No, not really, I think the first several weeks can be done in a few days. But, it is a good reference to keep your goals in mind & objectives on track.

Week #5 is Gift Making Week. I plan on making a few handmade/homemade items for gifts this year and here are my ideas thus far.

Crocheted hangers with scented drawer paper
I’ve made these crocheted hanger covers before and they are easy, but I am slow, so I will be doing well to make a set of three for someone.

Pattern for Crocheted Hanger Cover
1 plain plastic coat hanger + worsted weight yarn w/ G crochet hook

Chain 7 (HDC = Half Double Crochet)
Row 1: HDC in 2nd chain from hook and in each chain. Chain 1 to turn.
Row 2: HDC in back loop of stitch across. Chain 1 to turn.
Repeat Row 2 for pattern until 35 inches long. Fasten off. Sew/whip stitch lengthwise around sides and bottom of hanger.
Optional Tie: Make chain about 13-15″ long and tie around “neck” of hanger or tie with a pretty coordinating ribbon.

The scented drawer paper is made from inexpensive wallpaper and an essential oil of one’s choice. Lavender always appeals to me. Thank you Sylvia for this lovely gift idea & directions.
Another option is to crochet little sachet bags and attach to the hangers.

Homemade marshmallow cream & hot chocolate mix – inspired by my recent homemade marshmallows. Two marshmallow creams I am considering: chocolate marshmallow cream or homemade marshmallow cream I am looking for a rich hot chocolate mix without the non-dairy creamer. Anyone? Anyone?

Handmade sticky note holders
This idea came to me from the Titus 2 Christian HomeKeeper message board and I think it will make a lovely gift for my boys’ Sunday school teachers. I googled it for awhile and found some exciting examples and here is a tutorial. I don’t stamp, but I can find some scrapbooking paper, dig into my card stock, purchase a nice bible verse card, add some ribbon and a post-it note…ta-da!

So, what do you think? Do you have plans for a homemade Christmas? I wish I could say that our Christmas will be entirely homemade, but not so. I haven’t figured out how to make a Mario that obeys your every fingertip command.

This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homemade Christmas Gift Ideas

  1. I have a hot chocolate recipe…on my blog…that doesn’t call for creamer.

    Thanks! ~S

  2. tressays says:

    My husband’s family really appreciates homemade gifts. I would make some if I had the motivation. *sigh* I don’t know what has happened to me. I am just a “let us go get them something” woman now. It really bothers me. I like the sticky note holders. That doesn’t seem intimidating.

    LOL, that is pretty much what I thought, too. ‘not too intimidating, I can handle it’ ~S

  3. Donna says:

    My husband was going to try to think of something to make for gifts, but I’m not sure how that is going. I suggested a clock, we’ll see.

    Sheri, you haven’t figured out how to program games for the Wii yet? tsk tsk LOL

    My daughter is getting a Wii, it’s already bought. I actually saw around 7 Wii’s at W-mart a few weeks ago and I got one of them. My son has never ever ever seen a single Wii on a store shelf. (one up for me haha)

    I’m off topic.

    One year I stenciled words on T-shirts for nephews. That’s not hard. I’m just not yet sure what to do this year.

  4. Elaine says:

    I am making some gifts to be given to my kids teachers (Spanish, music, Sunday school, quizzing) and to those who help me with the Dare To Care ministry at church.

    I should do a blog about what I’m thinking of….

  5. jodysgirl94 says:

    I have made a couple of cross-stitch gifts. I am currently making jewelry for gifts. 🙂

    You will undoubtedly make someone happy w/your jewelry gifts! ~S

  6. Melanie says:

    Thanks for posting about this, Sheri! Made me realize that I need to get on the stick. So far I’m working on Harry Potter sweaters for the kids, but there are some other things I need to get started on.

    Donna, a Wii is a cool present! I saw some at Wal-Mart, but the kids were with me. I went back later that night and they were all gone. 😦

    I hope you get a Wii….they are cool! We had several couples over one evening and we ended up playing Wii Sports Bowling. It was fun and funny. ~S

  7. appliejuice says:

    Those are some cute ideas!

    Thanks! ~S

  8. Donna says:

    We were at warmart tonight and they have 3 Wii’s in stock! A-mazing! 🙂

    You know, I’m surprised there is still such a shortage…almost a year now. ~S

  9. Elaine says:

    I think that the Wii’s are such a hit because they are so versatile. When you play the games on them you can get a workout in!! So they are more interactive than the other game systems.

    I’ve though about suggesting this to hubby but I just don’t know.

    Have you see the new footpads or some such device they’ve developed for the Wii. I think it is called a Wii Balance Board…very promise, I think. ~S

  10. Chrystal says:

    I will probably be doing a few of our goodie baskets again. I have googled some new ideas for this year already on putting the baskets together, but I will stick to the same ole’ goodies. Homemade cookies, my famous spicy popcorn (just for Troy and Wendi), some chocolate covered pretzles, some homemade bread (compliments of you!) and probably a few other things. I want to try fudge but I am a big chicken and I want to make some peanut brittle this year. There might be some of that left unless I eat it all. I might even make it to the UPS store this year to send you one. Oh, did I mention Tobby does most of the baking for me? Tee-Hee!

Comments are closed.