Saturday Night Blogging

I need to blog. I want to blog. Now what?

Chocolatechic has caramel iced cinnamon rolls with delicious photos.
Applie has a Diet Coke fountain with some nice photojournalism.
Tressays is celebrating electricity.
Kenetha is enjoying her new living room furniture.
Donna is busy with a makeover & Elaine hasn’t caught me up with the news yet.

Yesterday, I experienced something so unusual and surreal I hardly have the words. It was like a homeschooling twilight zone or something. The boys were organized and efficient in doing their Friday lessons. surprised.gif Is this true? Is this the way it is supposed to be? Is this what happens when your homeschooling children become “in de pen dent”!?! I was Bored, Bored, Bored by Noon! Mary Pope Osbourne feel free to use that as a title for a future MTH book. Well, today that just wasn’t going to happen….besides it is Saturday! Hubby is sleeping from the nightshift, so my play buddy is out of commission until the late afternoon. *sigh* What to do?
How about a 60 minute cleaning spree? Well, OK, if I must.
Now what? Laundry? OK, marathon laundry started.
Computer work….check.
Homemade marshmallows? Whaaaa? You don’t even like marshmallows! I know, I am normal that way. Sounds fun though – right? Well, it was. Not exactly a recipe to start cooking lessons with 2 preteen boys, but they had fun and it certainly was educational plus we got to use a candy thermometer (tools – yeah!) It is still a marshmallow, but they are many times better than those white things in a bag. I wonder what they’d taste like in a Rice Krispie square? Now THAT is what marshmallows were created for!

Here is the recipe I followed: The Making Of A Marshmallow – Part I. I chose this recipe because it doesn’t call for corn syrup. I didn’t have any corn syrup.
When I have corn syrup I might venture this again and make Applie’s marshmallows.

marshmallows.jpg

This was a productive and fun day in the kitchen. We also enjoyed potato soup, applesauce, and warm whole wheat bread. Feeling so adventuresome today, (afterall we made marshmallows!) I used a new recipe for our semi-daily bread. I followed it exactly with my own optional add-ins (ground flax seed and some millet) and I highly recommend this recipe from Such Treasures. It is very low in sweetener, so I think it would make a lovely gift for a diabetic friend.

Daddy joined us just as the bread was going in the oven and shortly after the marshmallows were ready to eat. How do men do it?!

The boys & Dad are gathered around the TV & watching one of the Indiana Jones movies. I wish that woman would quit screaming!

All in all, it was a happy, industrious, well-fed, and family-centered Saturday. Now off to tweak my Sunday School lesson for tomorrow is the Lord’s Day!!

This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Recipe Box and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saturday Night Blogging

  1. Elaine says:

    Shari,
    Well, I’ve posted about the news now. I had no idea that anyone even read that part of my blog and had no idea that if I didn’t do it would be missed.

    Hope you enjoy them.

  2. Donna says:

    You had a nice Saturday and Friday! Yep, when the kids get more in de pen dent, it is different for the mom.

    Screaming woman in the Indiana Jones movie.. I know which one that is. @.@ I had the same thoughts as you.

    Yes, I spent Saturday designing and programming and learning. I’m still in phase one, it’s a big phase and it’s slowly progressing.

  3. tressays says:

    The marshmellows look tasty. I know that my kids would love to dig their grimy paws into those. I had to laugh at “in de pen dent”. Haha. I can so hear our little Rudolph friend saying that in my head.

  4. I want some marshmallows. I have some perfect hot chocolate for them to be paired with.

  5. Chrystal says:

    *As I wipe the drool from my mouth!*

    I bet those marshmallows would be divine covered in chocolate!!!
    And if that wasn’t enough to make me drool, you mentioned the fresh bread and soup.
    Yes. I am hungry now…
    I think I shall go eat my leftovers and pretend it came from your kitchen, ok.
    🙂

  6. jodysgirl94 says:

    Yummy! 🙂 I’m thinking FOOOODDDDD also….LOL!

  7. appliejuice says:

    Looks good enough to eat. LOL Hey, we are camping out with the neighbors this weekend. I’ll make those marshmallows. I’ll use your recipe. Nice to mix things up. I agree with CC, those would be great in Hot Chocolate, but not hot fudge. 😀

    They are quite excellent in hot chocolate! 😀 ~S

Comments are closed.