Penzey’s Spices

Ladies, Bakers, Cooks, you must seek out this store: Penzey’s Spices!!!

An entire store devoted to spices, herbs, peppers, salts, curries, and seasoning mixes. The best part? There are big jars to be sampled…Yes! Pop the top and breathe. Aaaahhhh….did you ever think cinnamon could smell so divine? Star anise – heavenly! The redolent smoked spanish paprika certainly provides a big wow. cheesy grin

penzeys3.jpg

Isn’t it beautiful? A sight & smell to behold!

I believe the store clerk told me there are 34 stores in the US. I do hope you are fortunate enough to have one in your neck of the woods or at least one near a relative’s home or vacation destination or somewhere you might be some day. If you think fondling school supplies or sniffing new homeschool books is the alltime high, then it is imperative you visit a Penzey’s!

So, does it enhance my cooking….but of course! Bon Apetite

And because inquiring minds want to know…..

The boxed set is called the Salad Sampler which comes with Buttermilk Ranch, Creamy Peppercorn, Italian Vinegar & Oil, and last but not least Green Goddess seasoning mixes. I love the old Green Goddess dressing, but it is full of sugar. I’ll be making this very soon.

The individual bottles are:
Juniper Berries
Smoked Spanish Paprika
Whole Allspice
Shallot Salt
Country French Vinaigrette (had this on chicken breasts tonite…yummy!)

In the bags:
Star Anise (I am in love with this spice)
Hot Chocolate (also in the big jar)
Kosher Style Flake Salt (I need one of those fancy salt pots like Alton Brown uses)

I can’t believe I forgot to buy the cinnamon……MUST GO BAaaCK! 😉

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Penzey’s Spices

  1. Chrystal says:

    I am so glad you posted this. I checked out their online selection and I now know what Tobby will be getting for Christmas. I think I will just get him one of the gift boxes they have. They have so many to choose from so I don’t know which one yet. I think I can mark him off my list now! What a good idea and tell me how yours are. Which ones did you get?

    Oh, I’m so glad you asked! In honor of your request, I’ll edit my original post with a list. S.

  2. Donna says:

    OooOOOOoo, how divine!! And you bought two bags worth!! That’s what ya call shopppping. :thumbsup:

    I’m checking out the link to them that you posted…. hmmmmm …. There’s not one near me!! boohoo!!!

    That a pretty blue and white cup you have there. Is that coffee I see in it?

    Coffee—you bet!! After recalling the recent conversation of favorite coffee mugs, I thought it should be in the photo, too! I think the closest one might be….well, what do you know….the one right here! 😉 S.

  3. No fair…no fair…no fair!!!

    I want to visit one soooooooo badly, but there is none near me.

    You can always visit the one near me! S. 🙂

  4. 😯 You FORGOT the cinnamon???? You need 40 lashes with a wet noodle!!!

    I know….shameful, isn’t it? I could kid myself and say it was part of my master plan, so that I had an excuse to go back…but, I plain forgotted. S.

  5. Chrystal says:

    We have one in St. Louis. That’s the closest. I settle for online shopping though! Please let me know how the salad sampler is. I had my beady little eyes on that one. Anything to perk up my salads is good with me. Oh, wait a minute….I was suppose to be looking for Christmas gifts fot Tobby! HaHa! I will have to visit the one near you!

    I think KC has one.

  6. Chrystal says:

    BTW! Love the cup too! 🙂

  7. Maybe you could….**cough cough** send me a birthday present???

    I love cinnamon…

  8. Sheri says:

    **cough cough** I really thought you’d go for the hot chocolate mix! lol

  9. Elaine says:

    It’s doubtful but I’ll go check to see if there is one anywhere up here…

    As suspected none up here. However I did notice that there is one in Jacksonville, FL – a visit to Applie??? Or I could got visit my brother outside KC, MO and go to the one at Overland Park. Decisions, decisions.

    More likely than not I’d go to the Overland Park store as I’m hoping to got that way for my niece’s graduation in the spring. Sorry Applie.

  10. Chrystal says:

    Kansas City huh? We are going there next week to rob Cabelas. Maybe I’ll have Tobby take me out to OP and visit them. He spent about half an hour looking at their website last night and started naming off all sorts of things. I was trying to keep a mental note of spices he mentioned. 🙂

  11. It probably wouldn’t be as good as the mix that we made home made here. I have NEVER found anything that compares….not even close. Even Ghiradelli’s pales.

Comments are closed.