A New Activity

We’ve been feeling the need for something a little more active for the boys lately.

1 – they seem to have an abundance of energy
2 – there is too much lag time between summer swimming and winter basketball
3 – don’t want them getting “couchy” – one of them in particular likes to munch when he is bored (too much like his mother, me thinks)

Care to venture a guess as to what I’ve gotten us into this time?

tkd1.jpg

The boys have commited to earning their first three Taekwondo belts and I must say they are excited. Tonight was the tour, the sales pitch, and the free lesson. DS1 wasn’t at all hesitant and got the ki-yaps (Korean for “yell”) down – no problem. DS2 was a little shy … for about 10 minutes. We barely got home this evening before they had their uniforms on and started watching the instructional DVD. I’ve been so privileged to see some fancy footwork in our living room tonite. 😀 I believe this is the beginning of a very good thing for them.

This entry was posted in Family, Homeschooling, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Activity

  1. Elaine says:

    The martial arts is so beneficial to kids.

    My kids and hubby took karate from a great instructor up until a few years ago when the instructor (sensi) moved to Maine. He and his family only stayed there a year – it just wasn’t for them. While he was gone my family couldn’t find another instructor and decided to drop karate. Now that the sensi is back no one wants to do it again. It would be so good for them but it’s not going to happen 😦

    Hope your boys keep their enthusiasm.

  2. Donna says:

    Sheri that is sooo cool!!!! Are you going to study Taekwondo too? 🙂

  3. Sheri says:

    I just knew you would come up with that question, Donna! My husband started in on me last night, too! I just can’t quite see it, but I plan on practicing with the boys here at home.

  4. appliejuice says:

    LOL How cute. I hope they really enjoy it. That is something my family never really got into. We talked about it a few times though. 🙂

  5. Donna says:

    Sheri, that’d be fun enough to practice with them at home. 😉 They could teach their momma! That place wouldn’t happen to have some weight lifting machines in a nearby room that you could use would it? It’s my barely humble opinion that all women over 40 should lift weights. :mrgreen:

  6. Sheri says:

    You are such an encourager, Donna and you are so correct. We need to maintain our bone mass for as long as possible!

    No, they don’t have a weight room; at least not for the students that I can see.

  7. Chrystal says:

    Well, are they just not the cutest things in their little uniforms? Theirs are so much nicer than mine was. Kayven is old enough for tiny tigers now…I think Logan might be too….hmmmmm! Maybe that’s what my little balls of energy need too.

Comments are closed.