Pico de gallo or salsa?

Well, whatever it is, I made some up last night, rather spur of the moment, and it turned out good!

5 or 6 tomatoes, peeled, sort of seeded
1/2 large vidalia onion
1/2 jalapeno, seeded, chopped fine
juice from 1/2 lemon (didn’t have a lime)
salt
garlic powder
parsley (wishing for a cilantro plant right then)

OK, so what IS it? Pico or salsa? pico.jpg

From my wee bit of research, pico de gallo means “beak of the rooster”. Seems appropriate around here and I’m sure Jethro would be proud. Picos are generally served fresh and are not cooked or roasted. Salsas are cooked or roasted and will keep much longer. Picos are salsa, but not all salsa is a pico. The ingredients in either are essentially the same. There are tons of pico and salsa recipes on the ‘net with many creative versions including fruits & other veggies, beans, seafood, olives, you name it, it has probably been thrown in a salsa somewhere. My version is probably too heavy on the tomatoes to be considered a true pico, but what is a girl to do when handed a box full of juicy ripe garden fresh tomatoes?

I would love to throw this pico into a bowl of mushed avocados. I love avocados, but for some reason, they hate me.

For your futher perusing: Tex-Mex Dictionary

Oh look, where does the time go…its LUNCH time!

This entry was posted in Food, Recipe Box, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pico de gallo or salsa?

  1. I have always thought that pico was fresh salsa.

  2. Elaine says:

    Whatever you call it it’s good 😀

    I’ll take a jar off your hands if you like. 😆

    We know this Mexican family that almost always makes their own salsa. I do have to ask him how many jalopenos he put in as I can’t take the heat. I’ll then have hubby try it first to see if I can handle it. Italian I can take spicy not so Mexican. 😦

  3. Donna says:

    I vote pico because it is fresh and has hot peppers in it. That is a nice way to use a box of free tomatoes!! yummy

  4. Sheri says:

    We finished it off tonite. 😀 In fact, it was dinner for DH & I, then we had watermelon for dessert.

    Next batch will have more jalapeno and fresh cilantro. Elaine, the above recipe was mucho flavorful, but very mild.

  5. Chrystal says:

    Yeah! It’s fresh so whatever you call it, it’s going to be good. We love to make our own too but I highly recommend cilantro. I shall make some for you when you come down for your visit and we can compare recipes because we have a pretty good one.

  6. appliejuice says:

    Ooo, yum, yum. I may have to try that. 😛

  7. tressays says:

    Looks tasty whatever it may be called. Yum! I will take mine with some guacamole on the side, please! 🙂

  8. Melanie says:

    Looks delicious! I love making my own salsa or pico de gallo or whatever you call it. 😛

  9. gingerporter says:

    When it is chunky like that…it is called pico de gallo.

    When the mater’s have been pureed a bit and it is more juicy (liquidy) it is salsa….for inquiring minds….:)

    Either way it looks yummy!!!!

Comments are closed.