VBS & Precious Stones

OK, after my rant on VBS points & competition, I want to share the blessing in this.

It is Friday night, a good crowd, though the boys are outnumbered. Tension in the air. Who will be this year’s overall winner? The boys have been beaten by the girls 3 times this week. The girls haven’t won the last 4 years. The children have dragged in their bulging bags of pennies. They are excited and their parents will come tonite for the VBS program. No games, no crafts, even the missionary story will be cut short….it is serious business for tonite is the night to amass points and defeat the opposition once for all! V-I-C-T-O-R-Y is at hand!

After the opening, singing, and missionary story the classes are dismissed with their teachers to work on final verses and final practice for tonight’s program. We combined the Jr (4th,5th,6th grade) Boys & Girls for the program….hubby and I were informed before VBS started that this was tradition. Now in all honesty, I suspect this is a tradition because the lady (we’ll call her Mrs. T) who traditionally teaches the Jr Girls readily admitted she isn’t good at making up skits (hinthint). No problem because God gave me the skit and I had it in hand and ready to go by the first night of VBS. OK, this is our first & last real run through of our presentation with microphones, so we really needed to get our flow down (you know, moving 20+ kids without a lot of extra chaos).

Here goes:
~Line them up in their seats with their cards to read, repeatedly.
~Keep them in order, repeatedly.
~Help them with big words, repeatedly.
~Tell them to speak into the microphone, repeatedly.
~Tell them to not tap on the microphone, repeatedly.
~Hush them, repeatedly. (I bet for every 1 time I hushed the boys, I hushed the girls 3)

Where are the other teachers & their helpers? I’m already frustrated b/c my husband has not arrived yet from work. He would keep them in line so I could coordinate this thing. I am quite focused at this point. And where is our helper (Mr. N…..where are you???)

Mrs. T pops up…’they don’t all know the song’. My thought: ‘thanks for noticing’. We have already gone over our allotted time and I can feel myself starting to fret. Mrs. T walks away. OK, sing the song, repeatedly. Parents are arriving. Other classes are arriving. I’m thinking ‘congratulations Sheri, you just spent the entire program practice & memory verse time on just the program’. Now, Mrs. T and her helpers have been working on verses with the girls during this entire practice session. I was focused – I hardly noticed. It is also part of the reason I was hushing the girls so much and that they didn’t know what was going on. But NOW, I notice. My boys didn’t get to say one verse…save one when our guest missionary came over and worked with my son on the daily verse. I didn’t even know that until after the fact. And the points sheet….I had forgotten all about it. Where is Mr. N? He grabbed the points sheet every night….why not tonight? I am more than fretting at this point…. I have guilt and anxiety and that horrible feeling of injustice….oh, I feel awful. In walks my knight in shining armour with a themocup full of cappuccino. Bless his heart, BUT I DON’T HAVE TIME FOR THAT! I am focused, remember?! He feels my frustration for which I later apologized. OK, time for the show, I take my place at the piano. Good! I can hide behind the piano and no one will see my face.

The Jr Boys & Girls did their presentation very nicely, no unfixable glitches, and no chaos! I really did love our presentation, it was definitely All About Jesus. 🙂

Children are dismissed to their classrooms for lesson time and the last time this week for a small group presentation of the Gospel. I left to see if I could get the points sheet and let the boys say some verses. Too late…the sheets have been tallied. 😦 Great, now I have to tell those boys they will not earn their memory verse points for tonight. Oh boy the looks of disappointment and, again, injustice.

We began discussing why we memorize verses. Our regular children know the answers as do many of our visitors. The looks of injustice disappear. Our missionary Miss Kelly Love, used “precious stones” in one of her missionary stories this past week. I asked the boys if they remembered it. Most did. So we discussed points on earth vs. precious stones in heaven. Boys love rocks, ya know. 🙂 The conversation grows, the gospel is shared, crowns are earned and God’s blessing resides in my heart. No murmurings, no disputings, and the looks of disappointment disappear. God bless these little boys, these future men…I love the all.

1 Corinthians 3: 11-13
11For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.

12Now if any man build upon this foundation gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, stubble;

13Every man’s work shall be made manifest: for the day shall declare it, because it shall be revealed by fire; and the fire shall try every man’s work of what sort it is.

This entry was posted in Faith, VBS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to VBS & Precious Stones

  1. Elaine says:

    I can so relate, I’ve been there and been frustrated and focused. I’m glad you were able to get in the valuable lesson that it’s what we store in heaven that really matters – that the boys got the point 😎

  2. Donna says:

    Sheri this is just beautiful! I loved reading how everything turned out. I suppose you all felt a bit of the fire that evening, especially you having many responsibilities all coming together at once, and then it all came together, the foundation was revealed, smiles and joy!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.