May & June YardBird Sightings

Pretty much the same group of birds as we saw in April. The American Goldfinches don’t hang around quite so much while the number of House Finches has greatly increased. They are coming by in family groups. There are also numerous immature Cardinals coming to the hopper feeder.

Additions:
Nuthatch – don’t know if it is a Red-breasted or a White-breasted, but they prefer the ants on the oak tree to the birdfeed
Red-bellied Woodpecker
Grackles – they are really too big for the feeder, but a few have tried to hold on
Indigo Bunting
Brown Thrasher – I forgot to add them in. They come to the birdbath. I haven’t decided if I’m going to mention what they were ‘doing’ in the birdbath this afternoon!

bunting1.jpg Here is the Indigo Bunting. He was hard to catch!
hanging-pecker.jpg This Red-headed Woodpecker has been most entertaining!
This entry was posted in Bird Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to May & June YardBird Sightings

  1. songbirdy says:

    You get the most amazing pictures of birds. I am so hopeless when it come to this subject of bird watching. I can watch them, but I have no clue which is which! My kids ask me and at least now I have stopped making up names for them but I still have to look silly as we scramble through the book looking!

  2. Sheri says:

    😆 We look thru the bird guides all the time!

    I couldn’t name the birds either, until I put up the bird feeders. The same birds show up day after day and you get to know them. It is big news around here when a new one shows up!

  3. TrustingGOD says:

    What a great picture of the wood pecker…., I can tell that he has been great fun to watch.

    Though I do not think he is a Red Bellied Woodpecker…
    I think that he is a Red Headed Woodpecker
    http://www.birds.cornell.edu/bow/rehwoo/

    Red Bellied Woodpeckers look like this
    http://www.birds.cornell.edu/AllAboutBirds/BirdGuide/Red-bellied_Woodpecker.html

    Of course you may have known that and were not referencing him, but I was not sure.

    Great pictures….keep them coming!

  4. Sheri says:

    You’re right Barbra-Sue, the hanging woodpecker in the picture is a Red-headed Woodpecker.
    I don’t have a picture of the Red-bellied Woodpecker and haven’t seen him in a couple weeks. They are so striking and I was so excited when they first showed up.

    I will clarify! 🙂 Thanks for the links…..I didn’t know we could put links in comments. I love that Cornell site.

  5. Elaine says:

    I too love your pictures, Sheri. I don’t get to see a great deal of bird species in my yard. I do love watching the red breasted robins hopping around after the rain to take care of the worms. There have been times when we’ve had up to 4 hopping around the yard at once.

    Keep the pictures coming I’m learning alot. 🙂

  6. tressays says:

    I love the bird pictures. My little guy is in love with birds and we are always looking them up in the guide.

  7. Melanie says:

    Great pictures, Sheri! That woodpecker looks like the class clown. 🙂

  8. Your pictures are gorgeous.

  9. Donna says:

    Nice pictures! Woodpeckers have the hang of hanging don’t they? 🙂

Comments are closed.